100s of online encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Includes the Encyclopedia of Religion, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of European Social History, The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Authoritative guide to the current scholarship, with expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
Articles on all aspects of the Islamic World, including aspects of intersections with Christianity. Discusses religion, history, politics, culture, distinguished Muslims, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, and other topics.
Updated irregularly. We have access to editions two and three. Includes articles on all aspects of the Islamic World. Discusses religion, history, politics, culture, distinguished Muslims, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, and other topics. Permits searching in both English and Arabic transcription.
The special fonts that are needed to use this database can be downloaded from the opening screen of the database.
Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Authoritative chronological overviews of a range of historical topics by recognized scholars. Articles (chapters) include extensive bibliographies. A somewhat tricky interface.
Updated regularly. Provides instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. All the available volumes are grouped into broad topics for quick and easy browsing (see the list below), or the entire series can be searched using the basic or advanced search features. Specific histories consist of either one volume or a numered series and cover all major regions of the world (i.e. Cambridge History of Africa, Cambridge History of Latin America).
More than 700 articles written by 150 top scholars that cover the people, places, activities, and creations of the Anglo-Saxons. From the Roman withdrawal to the Norman Conquest (c.450 - 1066AD).
Call Number: PCL Stacks D 114 D5 1982 V.1 - 10 LIB USE ONLY
ISBN: 0684190737
Publication Date: 1982-1988
...every aspect of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south, and the ubiquitous world of Judaism from A.D. 500 to 1500....Explore the conditions of daily life, major and minor figures, terms and concepts, countries and provinces, and movements, monuments, people, and events.
Call Number: PCL Stacks D 114 O94 2010 V.1-4 LIB USE ONLY
ISBN: 9780198662624
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a major resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from 500 to 1500. Since neighbouring areas of Asia and North Africa impinged on and helped shape the civilization of the West, relevant aspects of the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples ...
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England by 
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by 
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by 
