LibGuides: Medieval and Renaissance Studies: Databases for articles, books

Databases for articles, books

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Articles, chapters and books for over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) used for research and teaching on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
Updated quarterly. Provides a current bibliography for over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) used for research and teaching on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
To access the database, choose the "Enter databases" button and then the "GO" button.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Rival to the International Medieval Bibliography. Includes lists of Articles, books and chapters for over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) used for research and teaching on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500). Unique coverage of reference (encyclopedias, dictionaries) material.
Updated periodically. Provides bibliographic access to published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews.
Updated twice per year. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.
Access to full text portion of this resource is funded by the the Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles and books covering history dating from approximately 1450 to the present, with some earlier coverage.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of 1,000s of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes selective links to full text and links to citations (cited by).
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Brief overview articles serving as authoritative guide to the current scholarship, with expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, and events touching on, influencing and influenced by those areas.
Updated annually. Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes a wide range of periodicals and collective publications, as well as monographs.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated lists of 'all' important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to William Shakespeare.
Updated quarterly. Provides annotated citations for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to William Shakespeare. Coverage is international.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Over 1 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.
In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.

Index of Medieval Art
Formerly Index of Christian Art, from Princeton University, Includes images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the Sixteenth Century. Now expanding to incorporate secular subjects and medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication
Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Librarian

Shiela Winchester

Email Me

Contact:

512 495 4254

Subjects: Archaeology, Classics, Dutch Literature, Folklore, Germanic Studies, Greek and Latin Language and Literature, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Scandinavian