Biomedical Engineering

Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.

Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.

Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.

Updated monthly. Includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from the TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).

The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Updated frequently. The product has two parts:

• The ACM Full-Text collection. The full-text of ACM publications.
• The ACM Guide to Computing Literature. Described as, “the most comprehensive bibliographic database in existence today focused exclusively on the field of computing."

See here for summary information on full-text and indexed materials, with more detail here.

Updated regularly. Provides a searchable interface to the Institute's publications, covering all aspects of aerospace. Full-text access for AIAA journals and Meeting Papers, since the start of the society in 1963.

The AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) publishes approximately 4000 papers, presented at 20 conferences, each year. The online version of the meeting papers allows access to full-text scanned images; browsing by author, title, and conference.

Updated weekly. Provide full text access to all publications of the ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers), including all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.

Provides full text access to all 30 journals published by the ASCE. Represents a premier source of technical information for the civil engineering profession and form the core collection in the field.

Updated weekly. Provides online access to all available volumes of the technical journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the complete set of ASME conference papers starting with 2002, and many older ASME conference papers.

Updated daily. Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET (formerly IEE) journal articles and conference proceedings. Also includes IEEE technical standards and conference proceedings from VDE Verlag. Coverage is the research literature of electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, aerospace engineering, biomedical engineering, and transportation. Contains over three million records, with some content back to 1872. Also contains indexing from partner groups.

To see the publications to which UT-Austin has access, sign in and click in the navigation bar.

In search results, the subscription identifier icon indicates documents where the UT-Austin subscription enables full-text access.

Updated regularly. Features almost 100,000 peer-reviewed papers presented at MRS Meetings. Proceedings content is available electronically since volume 1 (1980).

Searching in this database also provides access to articles available through UT-Austin's subscriptions to journals from the MRS, the MRS Bulletin and Journal of Materials Research.

The Materials Research Society focuses on the study of the structure and properties of any material, as well as using this body of knowledge to create new materials and tailoring the properties of a material for specific uses.

Updated regularly. A multi-society library that provides a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.

Currently indexes more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently.

The following organizations are among those with their conference papers and technical documents indexed through OnePetro:

• American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
• American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
• Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)
• NACE International (corrosion engineers)
• Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) **includes full-text
• Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA)
• The Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
• World Petroleum Council (WPC)

Updated regularly. Providing resources on technologies related to the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. Including:

• SAE Technical papers, 1906+
• SAE Journals, 2008+
• SAE Magazines, 2023+
• SAE E-Books, 1990+
• SAE Standards, current version
• Ground vehicle
• Aerospace
• Aerospace Material Specifications

Updated regularly. Includes more than 350,000 technical papers. These papers were published either in the SPIE Proceedings series or in one of the nine SPIE journals. SPIE journals and proceedings are core information resources for the subject areas of optics, photonics and imaging.