LibGuides: Political Science and Government: Databases, Poly Sci & Gov

Articles

PAIS This link opens in a new window
1915 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 500 (with full text for 400) military and general interest publications.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides a collection of legal periodicals, reproducing the original image of each article. Includes over 1,200 law review journals containing more than 600,000 articles from 21,000 volumes.

Also provides access to the following:
- Federal Register
- Statutes at Large (the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress, browseable by volume, popular name or treaty)
- U.S. Supreme Court Library
Access to this resource is funded by the Tarlton Law Library at the Jamail Center for Legal Research.

Restricted to current UT students, faculty and staff. Not available to Official UT Retirees
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
1789 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides indexing of many Congressional publications, including Bills, Resolutions, Hearings, Committee Prints, Reports, Documents and Congressional Research Service Reports.
House and Senate Reports and Documents indexed in ProQuest Congressional (1817-1969) are available in full text in the Serial Set database. Our subscription to ProQuest Congressional does not include full text of the Serial Set.
Congressional Hearings after 2013 and House and Senate Documents and Reports indexed in ProQuest Congressional (1995 to present) are available in full text on Govinfo.gov site from the Government Printing Office.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic. Included are general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Readers can also find notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, as well as news items drawn from various sources.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
American State Papers This link opens in a new window
1789 - 1838. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Includes every legislative and executive document of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses. Complements the digital U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. A source of primary material on wide-ranging aspects of early American history.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
1998 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Comprises 17 Studies by Themes for monographs and reports; all OECD books and papers published since 1998; and the OECD statistical datasets online, which cover over 80 countries with data going back to the 1960s.
Note: Datasets from the International Energy Agency (IEA) are not included in our subscription.