American Political Scientists by Glenn H. Utter (Editor); Charles Lockhart (Editor)This dictionary offers the only comprehensive collection of profiles of American political scientists, each of whom contributed significantly to the intellectual development of American political science from its beginnings in the late-19th century to the present. This second edition includes 22 new and 110 revised entries, reflecting new scholarship that emerged during the 1990s. Numerous experts helped the editors develop this consensus group of the 193 political scientists who have made the most important theoretical contributions over the years, with attention to varied approaches and the different subfields. Alphabetically arranged entries focus on the main ideas and major works by each scholar, listing list the most important publications by and about the individual. There are numerous cross-references to show how the work of one scholar has influenced another in the discipline. Appendices list the political scientists by degree-granting institutions and by major fields. A short bibliography points to important general readings about the profession. A general index makes this major reference easily accessible for broad interdisciplinary research.
Call Number: JA 61 A525
Publication Date: 2002
The Oxford Dictionary Of Political Quotations 2nd ed by Antony Jay (Editor)Since the publication of the first edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Political Quotations, which was described as 'funny, striking, thought-provoking and incisive' and 'marshalled with wit and meticulous attribution of sources', there have been fundamental shifts in the internationalpolitical landscape: the Labour Party came to power in the UK for the first time in 18 years; an American President was impeached (and survived); the new Scottish Parliament and Welsh Assembly were set up in 1999; the House of Lords has been partially reformed; a new Mayor of London has beenelected; an entire European Commission has resigned, and issues such as GM foods have been furiously debated. Some major political figures have left the stage, as others have emerged. This new edition picks up where the previous edition left off, providing more than 4,500 quotations ranging from therhetorical to the downright rude.As well as new concerns, this second edition features many new entries from earlier periods which have come to light through rigorous research. There is more coverage of Irish, Scottish, and Welsh politics. Newspaper headlines, Slogans, and special categories are grouped together for the first timefor better access.It depends what the meaning of 'is' isBill Clinton, during the Lewinsky AffairWhen I think of Cool Britannia, I think of old people dying of hypothermiaTony Benn, long-standing Labour MPI feel like Galileo going before the Inquisition to explain that the sun doesn't revolve around the earth. I hope I have more successKen Livingstone, now Mayor of LondonI cannot believe that war is the best solution. No one won the last war, and no one will win the next oneEleanor RooseveltI want the whole of Europe to have one currencyNapoleon IThe Scottish Parliament which adjourned on 25 March in the year 1707 is hereby reconvenedWinifred Ewing
Call Number: PN 6084 P94
Publication Date: 2001
The Oxford Dictionary of American Political Slang by Grant Barrett (Editor)The Oxford Dictionary of American Political Slang illuminates a rich and colorful segment of our language. Readers will find informative entries on slang terms such as "Beltway bandit" and "boondoggle," "angry white male" and "leg treasurer," "juice bill" and "Joe Citizen," "banana superpower"and "the Big Fix." We find not only the meaning and history of familiar terms such as "gerrymander," but also of lesser-known terms such as "cracking" (splitting a bloc of like-minded voters by redistricting) and "fair-fight district" (which refers to areas redistricted to favor no political party). Each entry includes the definition of the word, its historical background, and illuminating citations, some going back more than 200 years. Selected entries will have extended encyclopedic notes. The book also features sidebar essays on topics such as political words in Blogistan; a short historyof "big cheese"; all about chads and the 2000 election; the suffix "-gate" and all the related Watergate terms; and the naming of legislation. Political junkies, policy wonks, journalists, and word lovers will find this book addictive reading as well as a reliable guide to one of the more colorfulcorners of American English.
Call Number: PE 3727 P6 H38
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought by Gregory ClaeysThis groundbreaking new work explores modern and contemporary political thought since 1750, looking at the thinkers, concepts, debates, issues, and national traditions that have shaped political thought from the Enlightenment to post-modernism and post-structuralism. The Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought is two-volume A to Z reference that provides historical context to the philosophical issues and debates that have shaped attitudes toward democracy, citizenship, rights, property, duties, justice, equality, community, law, power, gender, race and legitimacy over the last three centuries. It profiles major and minor political thinkers, and the national traditions, both Western and non-Western, which continue to shape and divide political thought. More than 200 scholars from leading international research institutions and organizations have provided signed entries that offer comprehensive coverage of: - Thought of regions and countries, including African political thought, American political thought , Australasian political thought (Australian and New Zealand), Chinese political thought, Indian political thought, Islamic political Thought, Japanese political thought, and more - Thought regarding contemporary issues such as abortion, affirmative action, animal rights, European integration, feminism, humanitarian intervention, international law, race and racism, and more - The ideological spectrum from Marxism to neoconservatism, including anarchism, conservatism, Darwinism and Social Darwinism, Engels, fascism, the Frankfurt School, Lenin and Leninism, socialism, and more - Connections of political thought to key areas of politics and other disciplines such as economics, psychology, law, and religion Notable time periods of political thought since 1750 - Concepts including class, democratic theory, liberalism, nationalism, natural and human rights, and theories of the state - Theorists and political intellectuals, both Western and non-Western including John Adams, Edmund Burke, Mohandas Gandhi, Immanuel Kant, Ayatollah Khomeini, Ernst Friedrich Schumacher, George Washington, and Mary Wollstonecraft
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by Helmut K. Anheier (Editor); Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2012
International Encyclopedia Of Political Science by Bertrand Badie (Editor); Dirk Berg-Schlosser (Editor); Leonardo Morlino (Editor)With entries from leading international scholars from around the world, the International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing its theoretical foundations and including empirical findings from across the globe. The eight volumes examine all the main subdisciplines of political science and include coverage of comparative politics, epistemology, political economy, political sociology, and international relations. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order, and a list of entries by subject area appears in the front of each volume for ease of use. The Encyclopedia contains a detailed index as well as extensive bibliographical references. Approximately 80 entries on the use of both qualitative and quantitative research methods in political science are provided. The process of democratization will remain a vital topic during the 21st century, and the encyclopedia contains extensive coverage of the evolution of democracy as well as other political systems. Readers will find theoretical and empirical background on other important issues such as global security, the relationship between religion and the state, and political issues related to gender and race/ethnicity. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides an essential, authoritative guide to the state of political science at the start of the 21st century and for decades to come, making it an invaluable resource for a global readership, including researchers, students, citizens, and policy makers.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by Mark Bevir (Editor)In discussing a topic, political science lecturers and course textbooks often toss out the name of a theorist or make a sideways reference to a particular theory and move on, as if assuming their student audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. However, academic librarians can tell you this is usually far from the case. Students often approach them seeking a source to provide a quick overview of a particular theory or theorist with just the basics: the who, what, where, how, and why. And librarians often find it difficult to guide these students to a quick, one-stop source. SAGE Reference presents the three-volume Encyclopedia of Political Theory, available in both print and electronic formats. This work serves as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Coverage includes: -Ancient Theory -Medieval Theory -Early Modern Theory -Enlightenment -Modern Theory -Constitutionalism -Liberalism -Critical Theory -Continental Theory -Empirical Theory -Comparative Political Thought.