Find Background Information

Find background information, including definition of art terms and biographies in these resources.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists with entries on artists from antiquity to the present day, including auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies. The most comprehensive, exhaustive art-historical reference work available.
Updated daily. Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Covers the artistic traditions of the world's leading cultures, countries, cities, towns, and regions as well as important archaeological sites, monuments, and buildings. Includes over 45,000 signed articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present as well as over 40,000 web links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more) are included.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. If you see a username and password prompt, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Background Information

Find background information on your topic so that you'll begin to understand the who, what, when, where, why and also the vocabulary surrounding your topic. This will help you narrow your topic to something manageable and will give you a bit of context so that you can decide more easily where to search later. You can begin in Gale Virtual Reference Library, a collection of (mostly) encyclopedia articles, which are short overviews of a topic. Check out the other listed resources as well.