Single articles on a topic are found in our library databases. The UT Libraries pay to have access to these databases and the articles they contain.
You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:
|Type of Database||About||Start Here|
See the subject-specific list below
Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)
Learn more about databases with the video in the right column.
See search examples on the second tab in this box, "Keywords and Database Searching"
Searching databases is different than searching in Google. You have to distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases, rather than whole sentences. You also have to think of different ways to say those key terms, because different writers will refer to the same concept using different terms. To turn your topic into keywords or search terms, use this tool, or:
|Diversity||Education||Perspectives on diversity|
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...
If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.
If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.