LibGuides: Arts and Entertainment Technologies: Music and Sound

Music and Sound Resources

Digital Audio Editing by Simon Langford
Call Number: ML 74.3 L36 2014
A Composer's Guide to Game Music by Winifred Phillips
Call Number: MT 64 V53 P45 2014
Ludomusicology by Melanie Fritsch; Michiel Kamp (Editor); Tim Summers (Editor); Mark Sweeney (Editor)
Call Number: ML 3540.7 L83 2016
Music Production by Michael Zager
Call Number: E-Book
The Routledge Guide to Music Technology by Thom Holmes
Call Number: ML 102 S67 R68 2006
The History of Music Production by Richard James Burgess
Call Number: ML 3790 B842 2014

Library databases allow you to search for different types of resources (scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers) all at once. The resources on this page represent a starting point for your research. Many game and app development projects are interdisciplinary and will require you to look for resources in other subject areas. Use the guides list to see recommended resources in other subject areas.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
1908 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated frequently. The product has two parts:
- The ACM Full-Text collection. The full-text of ACM publications.
- The ACM Guide to Computing Literature. Described as, “the most comprehensive bibliographic database in existence today focused exclusively on the field of computing."
See here for summary information on full-text and indexed materials, with more detail here.
BBC Sound Effects This link opens in a new window
Over 16,000 sound effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc License. The sound effects are BBC copyright, but they may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides users with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Leading general magazines are also provided including: eWeek, Fast Company, MacWorld, PC Magazine, PC World, Red Herring, Software Magazine, etc.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The expanded Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
1880s - 2000. Unlimited users.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Various dates - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET (formerly IEE) journal articles and conference proceedings. Also includes IEEE technical standards and conference proceedings from VDE Verlag. Coverage is the research literature of electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, aerospace engineering, biomedical engineering, and transportation. Contains over three million records, with some content back to 1872. Also contains indexing from partner groups.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Updated quarterly. Contains records describing articles in over 640 international periodicals in the field of music and related disciplines. Includes book reviews, recording and performance reviews, and obituaries.
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a streaming audio collection that supports the teaching and research of music. It currently includes access to over 7 million tracks from almost 70,000 albums, with new titles added each month. Music Online: Listening provides coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres:
- Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
- Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
- World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups.
- American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
- Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Updated monthly. Produced by the RILM International Center at the City University of New York Graduate Center, this database is an international bibliography on music and related disciplines with citations to books, articles, videos, bibliographies, ethnographic recordings, dissertations, e-publications, films, catalogues, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, Festschriften, conference proceedings, reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest. Indexes and abstracts over 500 scholarly journals and contains records in over 100 languages (titles and abstracts are in English). Print version also available.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
Information on basic system requirements for both PC and Mac platforms is available on the site.

This list includes some of the print and electronic journals you may want to explore:

Research Tips

Searching for Books

As AET students, your research will likely require books on a range of subjects. The library catalog searches across collections at all of the different library locations. The UT Libraries have print and electronic books for your use. You can search in the library catalog for both types of books.

Ways to search:

Subject – Searching by subject allows you to retrieve all of the items in the catalog that contain a certain subject heading or "tag"

Sound -- Recording and Producing

Video Game Music--History and Criticism

Author – Search by author's name (last name, first name) to see all of the works we have published by a specific individual

Title – If you already know the name of a book, this is a quick way to check if the library has a copy.

Keyword – If you have a topic or research interest in mind, you can search for the main terms or keywords to see the scope of what is in our collection.

Video game music
Sound recording
Music Production

Library Catalog Features

Find it in the Catalog –

Catalog Search

Pick It Up – Allows you to request items be sent to the library that is most convenient for you.

Get a Scan – Allows you to request an electronic scan of a book chapter or article.

Need more assistance on searching for books? Check out these guides:

Find Books
by UT Libraries TLS Last Updated Sep 15, 2021 960 views this year

Find eBooks
by UT Libraries TLS Last Updated Mar 17, 2021 3009 views this year

Are we missing a specific title you need? You can request items to use from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Are you getting too many results?

Use the word AND (in all-caps) between your search terms.

punk AND "British style"
"sound engineering" AND film

Search for a Specific Phrase

Put quotations around a group of words like "sound engineering" to retrieve results with that exact wording.

Do you need more results?

Use the word OR (in all-caps) between your search terms.

19th century OR nineteenth century
realise OR realize

Use an * at the end of a word to search for all forms of that word.

educat* will return results for education, educator, educated, educating;etc.
environment* will also return results for environmentalism and environmentalist

An * can also be used to replace a character in a word.

wom*n will search for women and woman

Do you need more relevant results?

Use the word NOT (in all-caps) between your search terms.

UT NOT Tennessee
advertisement NOT magazine

Try grouping the above strategies in a single search:

(children OR adolescents) AND disability AND (19th century OR nineteenth century)

Find a Journal

Search for print and electronic journals. Enter the title of the journal into either search box to see if the UT Libraries has a subscription. If you don't find the journal in print, try entering the title in the e-journal search box.

Journals

Still not finding what you need? Request an article through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan