LibGuides: UGS 302: Reading and Writing Contemporary American Poetry / Randall: Reviews of Poetry

A review is written at the time a work is released.

Think of a book review in much the same way as you think of a movie review. Reviews typically offer an opinion of a book’s quality or value rather than an in-depth analysis of the work, and tend to be shorter than literary criticism.

New York Times Book Review
Yes, you will likely hit a paywall, but you may enjoy the interface a bit more. After finding an article of interest, you can search for it by title on the library website or ask a librarian how to get access.
New York Review of Books
This literary magazine is a great place for reviews.
LA Review of Books
Another great place for poetry reviews.
The New Yorker
Yes, again, you may hit a paywall. Same advice as above for NYTimes.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Yes, we subscribe to newspapers with book reviews. The search interface is more complicated, but it's nice because it allows you to limit to reviews across newspapers. See screenshot below.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Here's how to search Nexis Uni for reviews. You can open this image in a separate tab or window to view larger.

This is how you search for reviews in Academic Search Complete. I would select both book reviews and poetry reviews from the drop down. The database relies on many publications to label their sources and you can't be sure of consistency.