LibGuides: UGS 303: Entrepreneurship : Find Company, Industry and Market Research

Company and Industry Information

What does the industry look like? Who are the competitors?

Data Axle
Basic directory information on US businesses and consumers. Allows you to make specialized lists of businesses. Includes some information on private companies

Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.
IBISWorld
* contains 700+ industry reports for US industries and 75 reports for global industries
* includes key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
MarketLine Advantage
* provides company, industry, and country reports
* includes Porter's 5 Forces, which describe the forces that affect how companies do business
* industry reports show leading companies
* company reports provide a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats)--the opportunities and threats influence the entire industry
Statista
Statistical information, market reports, industry reports, demographics, and government information.

Who are the customers?

City Demographic Data
Good source of demographic information about Austin if your start up is geared to the local community. Most cities will have pages like this.

Mintel
Market research reports on consumer goods and services in the US, UK and Europe.

In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you then need to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include the ""utexas.edu"" domain [e.g. @mccombs.utexas.edu, @mail.utexas.edu, @austin.utexas.edu]. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @utexas.net] will not be accepted.
SimplyAnalytics
Demographic, business and marketing data variables by city.
Create a free account or use Guest Login.
Limited to 5 users at a time so log out when you're done.
Statista
Statistical information, market reports, industry reports, demographics, and government information.

Find your company and industry/product in the news.

Business Source Complete
Find business news from newspapers and industry publications
Factiva
Includes the Wall Street Journal. Just a few people can use this at a time so log out when you're done.
Nexis Uni
Search news at the local, state, national and international level.