Government Documents & Information

For UT-Austin. "The Statistical Handbook provides information about UT Austin's student, faculty, staff, and degree characteristics." Notice that newer years are "interactive."

An interactive site for accessing the data collected on UT-Austin by the Office of Institutional Reporting, Research and Information Systems.

Including a student profile.

City services and contact information for the city of Austin.

From Deloitte, Datawheel, and Cesar Hidalgo (at MIT). "Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands." Data with visualization.

Austin area traffic counts.

Crime information from the Austin Police Department.

City codes and ordinances for Austin, Texas.

The official site for Travis County. Mostly about doing business with the county.

Find demographic and economic information by zip code. Included are, for example, travel time to work, the year housing was built, the cost of rent, school enrollment, and educational attainment.

Information about Texas legislation and legislators. Linking to other important sites.

"The Texas Records and Information Locator (TRAIL) service provides access to Texas state government information contained in electronic publications. TRAIL facilitates ready access to the information for Texas citizens and other users."

A list and link "each current Texas state agency."

The official website of the state of Texas. Think of this as where to make connection with the agencies of the state. For services and contact information.

Find the "Texas Administrative Code (TAC) is a compilation of all state agency rules in Texas." Link to the "Texas Register" and to the "Texas Register" archive.

Search the statutes by citation or by text.

Track bills, identify legislators, see voting records, and more.

“The Vital Statistics Section (VSS) maintains vital records for the state of Texas, including, birth and death certificates, marriage applications, and divorce records.“

Find state laws by state and then by category (as, family law, criminal law, and property law).

How much money the states have to spend and how they spend it.

A membership group for the governors of the states. The group investigates issues and takes positions on those issues. The site offers information on the governors, including lists of past governors.

A source for reports and information from an organization representing cities in the U.S.

Search and track state legislation; find state legislators for an address.

"The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments."

From the Kaiser Family Foundation. Search for health information by state and by category.

From the Pew Research Center. "Stateline provides daily reporting and analysis on trends in state policy."

From the Council of States Governments. Provides data for the states "in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education."

"...representing the interests of more than 3 million businesses of all sizes, sectors, and regions." Prepares reports on the business climate for their communities.

"The United States Conference of Mayors is the official non-partisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more." Maintains a database of mayors; provides data sets (for a fee); and advocates for cities.