Coverage for Latin America and from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) --- Latin American new coverage from 1974-1996.
Provides access to full-text searchable news reports from Latin America translated into English between 1974-1996 by the now defunct Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), which gathered open source intelligence for the United States’ Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). FBIS gathered news reports from radio broadcasts, news services, and clandestine broadcasts.
Please note, although the home screen appears to allow searches covering multiple regions of the world, we only have access to reports on Latin America.
Data sets back to the 1960s and online publications since 1998. Described as the "online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data."
Updated regularly. The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Comprises 17 Studies by Themes for monographs and reports; all OECD books and papers published since 1998; and the OECD statistical datasets online, which cover over 80 countries with data going back to the 1960s.
Note: Datasets from the International Energy Agency (IEA) are not included in our subscription.
Find information on the governmental structure of all countries of the Americas.
Updated regularly. Provides a comprehensive source of documentary and statistical political information on Latin American politics. Useful for students, academics, policy analysts and government officials.
Updated regularly. Allows users to find information on any commodity from any country. Includes larger overviews of imports and exports by country and main categories of commodities, such as food or fuels or machinery.
Also includes annual data from more than 130 countries. The data is searchable by commodity and partner country. All values are converted to US dollars and metric units. Coverage varies by country, but dates as far back as 1962 and go up to the most recent year.
Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from 1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002). Currently most data are reported according to HS, 2002 version, but the data are available in multiple classifications.
With documents dating to the founding of the United Nations. Materials on the operations of the organization and from component groups.
The United Nations Digital Library currently provides access to over 862,000 UN publications including maps, images, voting data, speeches, and other documents such as resolutions and decisions, meeting records, administrative issuances, reports of sessional committees, and a variety of other statements. Issuing organizational bodies include the General Assembly, the Economic And Social Council, the International Court Of Justice, the Secretariat, the Security Council, the Economic Commissions, the Human Rights Bodies, and other various agencies. Most files are PDFs, and most documents are available in the six languages used for official UN communications. The Library is updated regularly and a “Search Guide” and “Search Tips” are available.
"The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates."
Updated quarterly. An extensive collection of data about global development. Provides more than 550 times series covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
Historical information from the U.S. Department of State. For countries of the world, "facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations." Superceded by "Countries & Areas - Fact Sheets."
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." A long-time standard source.
(On the linking page, go to "Countries & Areas" and then to "Fact Sheet.") From the U.S. State Department. Brief information about relations between the country and the U.S. Supercedes the earlier "Background Notes" series.
A classic set for an historical perspective. "Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world."
"The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger." See statistics here: http://www.fao.org/statistics/en/.
Digital reports archive here: http://www.fao.org/home/digital-reports/en/.
"The International Atomic Energy Agency is the world's central intergovernmental forum for scientific and technical co-operation in the nuclear field." A good place to browse information is under "Resources": https://www.iaea.org/resources.
"The IMF's primary purpose is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system—the system of exchange rates and international payments that enables countries (and their citizens) to transact with each other."
"WIPO is the global forum for intellectual property (IP) services, policy, information and cooperation." WIPO, established in 1967, is an agency of the United Nations and maintains the PATENTSCOPE database: https://patentscope.wipo.int/search/en/advancedSearch.jsf.