Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Data for Business Research

Wharton Research Data Services

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) - University of Texas at Austin

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a data research platform that provides single-point access to a wide range of datasets across multiple disciplines including finance, accounting, economics, and sustainability.
Log in if you already have an account

Or

Request an account
The McCombs School of Business provides the funding for the datasets available through the Wharton Research Data Services platform at the University of Texas at Austin. Subscribed datasets may change depending on the needs of the McCombs faculty. Questions about the data available should be forwarded to the WRDS Administrator: 
WRDS@ mccombs.utexas.edu 

WRDS Current Subscriptions: A - Z List (Updated 10/2020)

Audit Analytics: Provides detailed categorizations of issues for tracking and analyzing public company disclosures related to audits, compliance, governance, corporate actions, and federal litigation. Includes the following...

  • Audit + Compliance
  • Corporate + Legal

Bank Regulatory: Provides accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filed for supervising purposes. Includes the following...

  • Bank Holding Companies
  • FDCI/OTS Deposits
  • Merger Information
  • Commercial Banks

Beta Suite by WRDS: A powerful web based tool allowing researchers to calculate stocks’ loading on various risk factors in a timely way. 

BlockHolders: This dataset contains standardized data for blockholders of 1,913 companies. 

BoardEx: A relationship mapping resource that contains more than 1.9 million profiles of public, private, and non-for-profit organizations and more than 1.4 million people. Access to the following....

  • BoardEx - North America

Bureau van Dijk:  Contains comprehensive information on around 21 million companies across Europe. Company information for both Western and Eastern Europe, with a focus on private company information. Includes the following...

  • Amadeus

CBOE Indexes: The CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange) Volatility Index®  is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices. 

Compustat - Capital IQ: Compustat is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies.Capital IQ is a suite of databases from S&P. They connect to the Compustat family of databases through GVKEY. Includes the following...

Compustat

Capital IQ

Other Compustat

  • North America - Daily
  • Global  - Daily
  • Bank - Daily
  • Historical Segments - Daily
  • Execucomp - Monthly Updates
  • Capital Structure
  • Identifiers
  • Key Developments
  • People Intelligence
  • North America - Annual Updates
  • Marginal Tax Rates

Contributed Data: Datasets contributed to WRDS by various academic researchers and faculty.

CRSP: The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) contains security price, return, and volume data on stocks and indexes,as well as quarterly data on Mutual Funds.

 

Direct Marketing Educational Foundation (DMEF): Four individual data sets, each containing customer buying history for about 100,000 customers of nationally known catalog and non-profit database marketing businesses are available through DMEF to approved academic researchers for use within academic situations. Includes the following...

  • Multi-Division Catalog
  • Non-Profit Organization
  • Reproduction Catalog
  • Specialty Catalog

Dow Jones: Dow Jones averages and Dow Jones Total Return Indexes. 

Efficient Frontier by WRDS: Risk analysis information searchable by company.

Event Study by WRDS: Analyze market reaction to firm specific and market-wide events.

Eventus: Performs event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source.  The Eventus system includes utility programs to convert calendar dates to CRSP trading day numbers, convert CUSIP identifiers to CRSP permanent identification numbers, and extract event study cumulative or compounded abnormal returns for cross-sectional analysis.

Farma French & Liquidity Factors: Constructed from the intersections of two portfolios formed on size, as measured by market equity (ME), and three portfolios using the ratio of book equity to market equity (BE/ME) as a proxy for value.

Federal Judicial Center:  Contains data on all federal, civil, criminal, bankruptcy, and appellate court case information reported by the courts to the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts. Coverage: mid-1969 through present. Includes the following...

Litigation

WRDS Linking

  • Appeals
  • Bankruptcy
  • Civil
  • Criminal
  • FJC Compustat - CIK Link Bankruptcy
  • FJC Compustat - CIK Link: Civil
  • FJC Compustat - CIK Link: Criminal

Federal Reserve Bank: Foreign exchange rates and interest rates.

Financial Ratios Suite by WRDS: A web based engine that delivers over 70 pre-calculated financial ratios for all U.S. companies across eight different categories (Valuation, Liquidity, Profitability, and etc).

 

I/B/E/S from Thomson Reuters: It is an historical earnings estimate database containing analyst estimates for more than 20 forecast measures - including EPS (earnings per share), revenue, price targets, EBITDA and pre-tax profits - available on both consensus and detailed levels. Includes the following...

  • IBES Academic
  • IBES Guidance

Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS): Historical Directors data, Shareholder Proposals S&P 1500. Includes the following...

  • Directors
  • Governance

Intraday Indicators by WRDS: Contains daily stock market indicators obtained from NYSE TAQ data. SEC offers Market Information Data and Analytics System (MIDAS) to promote better understanding of the U.S. equity markets and market structure. Includes the following dataset only...

  • WRDS SEC MIDAS

IRI Marketing Fact Book: Coverage 1983 - 1997 contains data on grocery store purchases from a representative sample of static qualifying U.S. panelist households to help make intelligent inferences for strategic planning and decision making. These purchases are continuously tracked across all UPC-coded brand-items in all categories.

Linking Suite by WRDS: allows our users to easily download link table between various heavily used databases on WRDS platform: Please note that access depends upon an existing subscription.

  • Bond CRSP Link  allows users to directly link fixed income data at the individual bond level to the equity data from the CRSP database.
  • BoardEx CRSP Compustat Link provides the link of Boardex companies with CRSP-Compustat universe
  • CRSP Compustat Link by CUSIP SAS code allows users to link CRSP PERMNO with COMPUSTAT GVKEY by CUSIP    
  • FactSet CRSP Link links Factset’s security id as well as entity id with CRSP identifiers
  • IBES CRSP Link provides the historical matching of IBES TICKER with CRSP PERMNO.
  • Option Metrics CRSP Link provides the link between OptionMetrics SECID and CRSP PERMNO
  • TAQ CRSP Link provides the link between TAQ SYMBOL and CRSP PERMNO
  • TR Insiders - Boardex Link provides the link between TR Insider PERSONID and Boardex DIRECTORID.
  • Compustat Customer Segment Company Names - GVKEY Link provides the missing link between abreviated Customer Segment (Supply Chain) Company Names to GVKEY. 
  • Federal Judicial Center Litigation Compustat-CIK Link provide the link among Docket Numbers, Case keys, GVKEYs and CIKs. Link is provided for Bankruptcy, Civil and Criminal data.

Includes the following...

Compustat CRSP Link Option Metrics CRSP Link
Supply Chain with IDs (Compustat Segment) FJC Compustat-CIK: Bankruptcy
IBES CRSP Link FJC Compustat-CIK Link: Civil
TAQ CRSP Link FJC Compustat-CIK Link: Criminal
Bond CRSP Link  

 

Macro Finance Society: curates a list of datasets from several influential papers broadly in the area of macro finance. For more information, please see https://macrofinancesociety.org/

Mutual Fund Links (MFLINKS): The MFLINKS tables provide a reliable means to link CRSP Mutual Fund (MFDB) data that covers mutual fund performance, expenses, and related information to equity holdings data in the Thomson Reuters Mutual Fund Ownership data (formerly known as the CDA S12 data).

  • CRSP-FUNDNO-WFICN
  • FUNDNO-WFICN

MSCI (formerly KLD and GMI): annual data set of positive and negative environmental, social, and governance (ESG) performance indicators applied to a universe of publicly traded companies.

  • MSCI ESG KLD STATS
  • MSCI GMI Ratings

MSRB - Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board: Contains municipal securities transaction data.

OptionMetrics: is the premier provider of historical options data for use in empirical research and econometric studies. Includes the following...

  • Ivy DB US

Option Suite by WRDS: Option and equity level indicators derived from underlying option pricing data. Includes the following...

  • US Stock Level Output
  • US Option Level Output

OTC Markets: closing quote, trade and security reference data for securities trading on the OTCQX, OTCQB, and OTC Pink Marketplaces.Includes the following...

  • End-of-Day Pricing

 

Penn World Tables: provides national income accounts-type of variables converted to international prices. 

Peters and Taylor Total Q: An improved Tobin’s q - replacement cost of intangible capital - by Ryan Peters (Tulane) and Lucian A. Taylor (Wharton).

Philadelphia Stock Exchange (PHLX): includes Currency Options and Implied Volatility.

Public Data: publicly available data from a variety of sources, such as the Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and select Healthcare data. 

Research Quotient: Analyze and measure the effectiveness of a firm's R&D.

 

SEC-mandated Disclosure of Order Execution Statistics: On November 15, 2000, the SEC adopted new rules aimed at improving public disclosure of order execution and routing practices. Data is available on WRDS through 2005, and is no longer updated.

TAQ (NYSE Trade and Quote): This database contains consolidated intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), American Stock Exchange (AMEX), Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues, as well as stocks traded on Arca (formerly Pacific Stock Exchange) and other regional exchanges. Includes the following...

  • Trade and Quote "Monthly Product". 1993 - 2014
    • Reg SHO (NYSE Short Sales)

Thomson Reuters: Contains mutual fund, 13f holding and global commercial loan market information. Includes the following...

  • Mutual Fund Holdings - (s12)
  • Institutional (13f) Holdings - s34
  • WRDS - Reuters DealScan
  • WRDS TR Tools

TRACE (OTC Corporate Bond and Agency Debt Bond Transaction Data): comprehensive, real-time access to corporate bond price information.

 

World Indices by WRDS: Country total return indices (with dividends). 40+ countries. Daily and monthly frequencies.

WRDS Factors: See below...

  • Backtester Basic – contains 103 signals that were created using common databases: CRSP Stocks, Compustat, and CRSP's CCM product. 
  • Backtester Plus – contains the entire list of 134 signals that use additional databases including IBES, OptionMetrics, Thomson Reuters, and WRDS SEC Analytics. Users can upload a .txt file that contains the time series of customized signal values and test the signal performance.
  • Backtester with User Signals -  users can upload a .txt file that contains the time series of customized signal values and test the signal performance.

WRDS SEC Analytics Suite: search though the contents of millions of SEC filings. Access Readability and Sentiment scores and Linking Tables. Includes the following...

  • WRDS SEC Filings Index Data
  • WRDS SEC Filings Queries
  • WRDS SEC Linking Tables
  • WRDS SEC 13F Holdings Data
  • WRDS SEC Text Analysis

WRDS Thomson Reuters Institutional (13f) Holdings - Stock Ownership Summary: Data on stock ownership by institutions, other major holders and insiders.

WRDS Insiders: Data is parsed directly from SEC forms 3, 4, and 5, and includes the following...

  • Filing Data
  • Reporting Owners
  • Derivatives
  • Non-Derivatives
  • Footnotes

 

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.