LibGuides: AMS S 370: Children's Literature and American Culture: Scholarly Journals &amp; Literary Criticism

Find Literary Criticism & Scholarly Articles

Literary criticism is the scholarly evaluation, explanation, and analysis of literature. It can be written at any time, even centuries after the publication of the literature it critiques. Literary criticism is often found in scholarly journals or books.

A scholarly journal is different from a magazine or other periodical because it’s a respected forum in which scholars share their research. The articles in journals are usually peer reviewed, and can be taken as legitimate scholarly knowledge.

More explanation on scholarly sources.

MLA International Bibliography
A database of scholarly journals, books, and other scholarly publications about literary studies (including criticism and theory) from the Modern Language Association.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Includes plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and more.
Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large full-text database of scholarly journals and ebooks. It may be helpful to limit your search to journals listed under "Language & Literature".
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and hundreds of scholarly journals of literary criticism.
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly books, book reviews, journals and dissertations on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Project MUSE Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
A huge multi-disciplinary database of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Ebooks: Selected ebook titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions, and titles are accessible on some mobile devices. For further information, please consult the FAQ or tutorials and user guides
.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals on film and media studies, as well as trade publications on the film/entertainment industry.
Updated monthly. Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals on library and information science, helpful for perspectives of children's and school librarians.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing for more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Education Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
1929 - 1983. 2 users.
Detailed indexing of over 800 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed. Indexing from 33 historic print index cumulations. Citations for 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Updated subject headings to make finding older citations easier, though original subject headings are also retained to provide insight into the way issues of the day were framed.
EBSCO search tutorials
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
1966 (selected full text from 1993) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Recommended Scholarly Journals

Below are links to scholarly journals covering Children's Literature. This list is not exhaustive but offers a good starting point. Click "Available Online" to see where you can search within the journal.