LibGuides: Rhetoric & Writing: Newspapers & Magazines

Finding Newspaper Articles

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Notable titles: New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Guardian (London)
Goes back to 1983.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Notable titles: The Washington Post, the Boston Globe
NOTE: Years of coverage vary.
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Business/financial newspapers. Notable title: The Financial Times (London), the Wall Street Journal, the Economist
Updated daily. In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics.

Finding Magazine Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Notable titles include: Time, The Atlantic Monthly, Newsweek.
NOTE: Years of coverage vary.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Notable titles: Cosmo, Essence, Seventeen, Ladies' Home Journal
1800s-2005
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Notable titles include: Time, the New Yorker, the Atlantic, People, Newsweek
1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers more than 375 titles.

How to find a Specific Newspaper/Magazine

Use the library's Journals search, and type in the title of the newspaper or magazine you want to find.

Pay attention to the years of coverage. Some databases have historical coverage, some have recent issues and articles.

Remember, you can always Ask A Librarian for help!

More News Sources

Finding News and News Evaluation library guide

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required