Great for overviews of topics from different disciplinary perspectives and for bibliographies of key works. 100s of online encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Includes the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, Encyclopedia of Political Theory, European Writers, Encyclopedia of European Social History, The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
Alternative to Gale Virtual Reference (above). Full-text authoritative dictionary and encyclopedia entries alongside thousands of easily searchable images, audio files, and videos. Credo provides access to hundreds of in-depth titles covering major subjects from current Social Issues to Ancient History and Shakespeare to Einstein. Includes "Mind Maps", keyword visualization tools. Good for overviews.
Over 3 million full-text authoritative dictionary/encyclopedia-like entries alongside thousands of easily searchable images, audio files, and videos. Credo provides access to hundreds of in-depth titles covering major subjects from current Social Issues to Ancient History and Shakespeare to Einstein. Includes "Mind Maps", keyword visualization tools.
Authoritative chronological overviews of a range of historical topics by recognized scholars. Articles (chapters) include extensive bibliographies. A tricky interface.
Updated regularly. Provides instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. All the available volumes are grouped into broad topics for quick and easy browsing (see the list below), or the entire series can be searched using the basic or advanced search features. Specific histories consist of either one volume or a numered series and cover all major regions of the world (i.e. Cambridge History of Africa, Cambridge History of Latin America).
Call Number: PCL Stacks D 114 D5 1982 V.1 - 10 LIB USE ONLY
Publication Date: 1982-1988
...every aspect of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south, and the ubiquitous world of Judaism from A.D. 500 to 1500....Explore the conditions of daily life, major and minor figures, terms and concepts, countries and provinces, and movements, monuments, people, and events.
Call Number: PCL Stacks D 114 O94 2010 V.1-4 LIB USE ONLY
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a major resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from 500 to 1500. Since neighbouring areas of Asia and North Africa impinged on and helped shape the civilization of the West, relevant aspects of the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples ...