Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Harry Ransom Center Research

Starting Your Research

Starting Your Research

Welcome! If you’re unsure of your research interests, try these steps:    

  1. See highlights organized by subject areas in the Guide to the Collections.
  2. Visit the homepage and enter keywords in the general search field to find blog posts, press releases, and finding aids about Ransom Center materials.
  3. If you’re interested in photography, performing arts, visual art, and film, there are additional databases to search.
  4. Some material has already been digitized. Browse digital collections.

Ready to Look at Something Today?

Visit us at the Harry Ransom Center. Please remember to bring a photo ID. When you arrive, front desk personnel on the second floor will ask you to complete the following steps:

  1. Create or login to your research account. You can do this before you arrive, or on the computer in the orientation room
  2. There is a television screen in the orientation room with a brief video to watch.
  3. On your first visit, a staff member will walk you through the next steps for researching in the Reading Room. You can ask them any questions you might have. Our reference and circulation staff in the Reading Room can answer any additional questions. We will do our best to help you find and access materials related to your topic.

    We’re really glad you’re here!

Contact Us

For general information or help with reference and research, call (512) 471-9119 or email reference@hrc.utexas.edu.
A member of our Reference and Research staff will get back to you at the earliest opportunity. 

For other inquiries, you may find our staff directory here.
 

Guide to the Collections

Our Guide to the Collections is a great place to start your research. It includes highlights of our collections by subject and a search option for key terms. Find our guide here.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.