LibGuides: UGS 303: The Math of Politics / Jessee: News

Popular press

Alt-Press Watch
Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Daily Texan - Newspaper Archive
Digitized copies and content of the Daily Texan from 1900 - 2019. Current issues available at https://thedailytexan.com/
Digitized copies and content of the Daily Texan.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Factiva
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Financial Times, Economist and more
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
PressReader
60 day archive of full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Texas Newspaper Archive
1838 - 2019 - Digitized copies and content of Texas newspapers- even from small towns.
Digitized copies and content of Texas newspapers, including The Austin Daily Texan (1900-2019), Galveston Daily News (1865-2017), San Antonio Express (1865-1977), San Antonio Light (1883-1977) and hundreds of other Texas newspapers.

Liberal and Conservative Publications

Click on a title and choose a database to search the full text of that magazine for your topic.

Liberal	Conservative
American Prospect	American Conservative
Dissent	American Enterprise
In These Times	American Spectator
Mother Jones	Commentary
The Nation	Human Events
The Progressive	National Review
Tikkun	Policy Review
The New Republic	Weekly Standard
Washington Monthly	World

Note: This is a partial list of popular magazines. Other publications not included on this list may have a strong political viewpoint or bias.