Encyclopedias - Maymester 2024 - Engineering 333t - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Finding Encyclopedia Articles

We hope that an encyclopedia article will provide a overview or summary of a topic, plus a bibliography pointing to other sources. The UT Libraries offer some good encyclopedia products including:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This database indexes many encyclopedia products in one place. Some articles are short and some longer. If your terms don't seem to work, try changing your approach. Also, there's a "Help" section that explains how to use the product.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Including topics of sustainability, criminology, culture, and geography.
This online encyclopedia provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. The encyclopedia includes over 3,900 articles that discuss history, current trends and future directions. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading.
Contains reference material covering the following disciplines:
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Demography
- Economics
- Education
- Geography
- History
- Law
- Linguistics
- Philosophy
- Political Science
- Clinical Psychology
- Cognitive Psychology
- Developmental Psychology
- Social Psychology
- Personality Psychology
- Motivational Psychology
- Sociology
- Criminology
- Memory: Cognitive and Neuroscientific Aspects
- Neuroscience of Language
- Culture and the Arts