Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

MAN 337 - Performance/Sports Analytics

Market Research Databases

Market Research

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.

Provides in-depth market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets.

Gartner provides unlimited access to a knowledge base of IT research and technology news, products and trends to support your research and business projects. Gartner is available to all current University of Texas at Austin students, faculty and staff. With thousands of research articles on every aspect of information technology, the applications of Gartner research reach beyond the technology field to practical uses in education, business management, healthcare, government and more.

 

IBISWorld: Industry profiles on 700+ US niche industries including information on Barriers to Entry.

MarketLine Advantage has industry reports with Porter's 5 Forces Analysis.
Select Industry Profiles from the drop-down menu.

Topics:

  • Food & Beverage
  • Technology & Media
  • Heavy Industry
  • Demographics
  • Life Science
  • Consumer Goods
  • Service Industries
  • Public Sector
You may only access a Mintel database to which the academic institution has subscribed via a secure network for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current member of faculty or staff, or permitted guest. 

New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include the ""utexas.edu"" domain [e.g. @mccombs.utexas.edu, @mail.utexas.edu, @austin.utexas.edu]

 

Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.

WARNING: If you are working on projects which involve persons who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing TechNavio reports. 

Report downloads are available, but you must select and request a specific report and supply your University of Texas at Austin email address. Reports will be sent via email within one business day.

Market Share & Trends

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.

Business Insights: Essentials has market share information, see instructions for how to retrieve those reports.

Include the subject statement (DE market share) as part of your search strategy.

BMI Research is a research firm that provides macroeconomic, industry and financial market analysis, covering 24 industries and 200 global markets.

Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, major industry participants, plus a five-year forecast.

Include the terms "market share" or trends within your search strategy.

Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts.

Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope.

Market Potential Index

About the Index

The purpose of this study is to rank, with a U.S. focus, the market potential of 87 identified countries and to provide guidance to the U.S. companies that plan to expand their markets internationally.

Market Potential Index (MPI) - 2016

Industry MPI

The Industry Specific Market Potential Index (MPI) aims to compare 89 countries, which globally have the highest Gross Domestic Product (GDP), with each other on several dimensions in order to rank them according to their market potential for different industries. The focus of the study is to identify new markets to export goods rather than identifying new countries to invest in.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.