Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Libraries Services Continuity

Courtesy Borrowers

Courtesy Borrowers FAQs

May I get a Courtesy Borrower card?

No Courtesy Borrower cards will be issued until further notice.  

I have library materials checked out now.  What do I do?

Due dates for UT Libraries materials have been extended until September 8 and will be extended further if necessary. There will be no fines imposed for currently checked out items. For more information, see Renewing and Returning Items, Fines & Fees.

I have materials checked out . What happens if my Courtesy Borrower card expires before the Libraries reopen?

While we are unable to renew Courtesy Borrower cards at this time, due dates on your materials have been extended to September 8. If you have your Courtesy Borrower card through TexShare, we are extending the expiration date of the card for six months from the date of expiration, which may allow you to renew your materials online in August.

Once the Libraries reopen to Courtesy Borrowers, you may renew your card. If your materials come due before then, you will need to return them.

When will the Libraries reopen to Courtesy Borrowers?

For more information about the UT Libraries reopening plans, see the Reopening the Libraries page.

May I get a TexShare card?

As of 3/25/2020, the TexShare Card Program has been temporarily suspended. Libraries are not currently issuing or renewing TexShare Cards. If you have questions, please contact texshare@tsl.texas.gov.

 

Access to Collections

Off-campus access to the majority of our online content remains accessible to UT-Austin students, faculty and staff only.  Suggestions for non-UT Austin users include:

  • Your Local Library:  many public libraries have access to numerous e-resources available remotely to library card holders.  These may incude e-books, article databases, streaming audio and language learning tools.
  • Open Access Databases:  The UT Libraries has links to 143 databases, including article and e-book databases, that are open to the public.  These databases cover a broad range of topics.  Some include citations only and others include the entire text.
  • Temporarily Available Collections:  During this time, many vendors are temporarily making materials available, either to UT-Austin or to the public.  When exploring this guide of temporarily available collections, click on links to discover whether they are open to the public or require a UT-Austin student, faculty or staff member to log in with their EID.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.