Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Libraries Services Continuity

Research - PCL Pickup

Overview

Beginning June 22, UT-Austin faculty and students with time-sensitive tenure or degree completion deadlines may request pick up of UT Libraries' physical materials by appointment.

How it Works

Step 1:  Determine your eligibility. This service is available to UT-Austin faculty and students who need UT Libraries materials for time-sensitive tenure or degree-completion deadlines.

Step 2: Place your request for available print and AV items in the UT Libraries collections. The request form requires that you search for your items in the Library Catalog and copy and paste in the permalink for each item you are requesting.

Step 3: When items are ready for pick up, you will receive a message with an item list and a link to schedule a pick up time. Appointments are available Tuesdays and Fridays from 10am to 5pm in 15 minute increments.

Step 4: Come to the PCL plaza during your scheduled appointment and bring your UT or government issued ID. Call 512-495-4258 to let staff know you have arrived and wait by the ADA door. Staff will check out your requested items to you when you arrive. When a staff member arrives on the other side of the door, please present your valid UT or government-issued photo ID (you need only to hold your ID up to the glass for viewing). Staff will place your items on a table at the entry and the door will be opened for you. Collect your items as quickly as possible and move to one of the covered tables on the plaza if you wish to look through your items immediately. If there are items you do not want and wish to return immediately, please put them in the book return to the right of the front doors on the PCL plaza.

FAQs

Who is eligible for this service?

This service is available to UT-Austin faculty and students who need UT Libraries materials for time-sensitive tenure or degree-completion deadlines.

How many items may I request at one time?

You may request up to 10 items per pick up appointment.  

What items are eligible for pickup?

Print and AV items in the UT Libraries collection that can normally be checked out are eligible. Library Use Only or Special Collections items, including items in the Harry Ransom Center and Briscoe Center, are not eligible. Our recall service is temporarily suspended, so items checked out to someone else are not eligible.

If an item you request is available in HathiTrust, you will be sent a link to the HathiTrust item instead of receiving the physical item. HathiTrust is a collection of scans of approximately 40% of our print collection, including many items still under copyright protection.  

Tip:  When looking up your items in the Library Catalog in order to fill out the request form, look for items that say "available at...(library location)." Click on the title of the item to get to the full record and scroll down to make sure it is designated as "loanable" and is not limited to "library use only." 

If an item is available online in HathiTrust but I want the print version, may I get the print version from the UT Libraries instead?

Unfortunately we are unable to fulfill requests for print items that are in our collection that are also available in full text in HathiTrust. In order to be compliant with copyright laws and the rules of HathiTrust, this expanded HathiTrust digital access is “emergency access” only. If we were to provide access to physical copies of material available online through HathiTrust, it would force us out of compliance with our formal agreement and we would lose access to the entire collection of online HathiTrust materials. Because so many of our users continue to teach, learn, research and work remotely, maintaining this access is a high priority to ensure collections access to the greatest number of people.

How do I make the request and find permalinks?

The request form is available here. To find the permalink to a Library Catalog record to paste into the form, search for your item in the Library Catalog, click on the item title to open the full record, and click on Permalink.

Can I browse the shelves in PCL or any other library?

There is no public access to any library buildings. The Library Catalog has a virtual browse function that might meet some of your needs and librarians are available to support your research. 

What happens if you can't fill my request?

If we cannot fulfill your request, we will inform you. Contact your subject liaison librarian for assistance. They may be able to purchase an electronic version, if available, or recommend an alternate source.

What do I need to bring to my appointment?

You or your designated proxy must bring a valid UT ID or government-issued photo ID. If you requested numerous items, you may want to also bring a bag as Libraries staff will not have any available to hand out.

What do I do when I arrive for my appointment?  

At your scheduled appointment time, go to the ADA door to the right of the main PCL entrance and call 512-495-4258 to identify yourself. Staff will check out your items at that point.

When a staff member arrives on the other side of the door, please present your valid UT or government-issued photo ID (you need only to hold your ID up to the glass for viewing).

Items will be placed on a table at the entranceway and the door will be opened for you.

Please collect your items as quickly as possible and exit the building. You may move to one of the covered tables on the plaza if you wish to look through your items immediately. If you no longer want items, you may place them in the book return to the right of the front door of PCL.

Please stay at least 6 feet away from other people, including library staff.

Can I come early or late for my appointment?

Please plan to arrive at your scheduled appointment time. Materials will not be available before or after your scheduled appointment window.

What happens if I miss or can't make my appointment time?

Please contact PCL Borrower Services at 512-495-4300 or pclcirc@lib.utexas.edu. 

Can I send someone else to pick up my materials?

You may designate a proxy to pick up your items by providing the name of your proxy in the request form. When the proxy arrives to pick up the items, they will need to present their UT or government-issued photo ID.

How long will it take for you to fulfill my request?

Requests may take up to 5 business days to be filled.

When will my items be due? How can I return them?

You will receive an email from the library system with item due dates. You may renew items on the Libraries web site or return them to the book drop to the right of the PCL entry doors.

Will this service be expanded beyond materials needed for time-sensitive tenure and degree requirements?

We will expand this service as UTL REOPEN progresses. Check back frequently for updates to services.

Request Form

Please request materials using this form.

Questions?

Please email pclcirc@lib.utexas.edu.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.