Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Libraries Services Continuity

Reopening the Libraries

Phased Reopening

The UT Libraries is reopening in alignment with the university's Protect Texas Together roadmap. This page and information through the guide will be updated as services and collections access change.

Current Status

UTL REOPEN is in the current stage:

1. Limited retrieval service for library materials that are not available online

Beginning June 22, 2020, UT Libraries will offer researchers who have urgent deadlines tied to tenure or end-of-degree requirements a contactless service to request and pick up library materials that are not available online. All UT Libraries locations will remain closed to users through the end of Level 3. 

Researchers with such deadlines should submit requests for library materials via the Physical Resources Request Form. For more information about the service, see this page

2. Scanning for Fall 2020 course materials

Beginning July 13, 2020, UT Libraries will offer scanning for course materials in lieu of placing materials on reserve in Libraries locations. For more information and to make a request, see the Fall Course Reserves Scans page.

Future Planning

Future UTL REOPEN Planning: Expect Limited Public Service & Expanded Research Access

Level 2 of the UT Libraries reopening is scheduled to begin before UT classes start on August 26, 2020. At that time, the Libraries will add in-person services and paged access to physical materials that are not available online. 

By the start of fall classes, UT students, faculty and staff can expect:

  • Expanded electronic access to resources and continued robust online support for researchers, instructors and students.
  • Closed stacks access to library materials that are not available online.
  • Limited public services, independent study, and use of computer labs in PCL entry level for the UT community only.
    • The entry level of PCL will be open seven days a week from 7 am to 11 pm and closed overnight for cleaning.
      • Current, valid UT ID required for entry.
    • The service desk will be staffed up to 10 hours per day (9 am to 7 pm weekdays; 10 am to 7 pm weekends) for pickup of requested materials.
    • Research consultations and Ask a Librarian chat service will remain online.
    • The computer labs will operate at a reduced capacity for social distancing, with over 80 Macs and PCs available for walk up use.
    • Additional lab computers will be available online via remote connections through a browser
      • These remote computers will provide access to the specialized software found in the PCL Data Lab, the PCL Media Lab, and the Foundry.
    • The furniture will be arranged to facilitate social distancing and independent study.
      • All PCL entry level public spaces will be available for quiet study and taking online courses, with access to electrical outlets and ubiquitous wifi.
    • Collaborative, group, and silent study space will not be available.
    • Library Copier Services will be open in a limited capacity.
  • Access to Archives and Special Collections by appointment only with social distancing protocols.
    • For UT Libraries, this includes the Benson Latin American Collection, the Architecture and Planning Library Special Collection, and the Alexander Architectural Archives.
    • When possible, digital copies of archives and special collections materials will be made available to researchers.

 

HathiTrust and Collections Access

As we move through phased reopening, we will consider access to HathiTrust digital materials and access to print collections, prioritizing access for the greatest number of users. For more information about HathiTrust and Collections Access, please see this page.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.