Marine Science

Contains a variety of source materials and book series published by global and regional oil and gas professional societies. AAPG makes available its own bulletins, meeting abstracts, and special publications for download as full-text PDFs. Subjects include petroleum geology and related fields, such as structural geology, organic petrology, and sedimentary research. Some international coverage.

Updated daily. In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics.

Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Updated annually. Provides full text access to all volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical, physical and social sciences.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is an online library providing free and open access to the legacy literature of taxonomy and biodiversity. Materials in BHL are provided by a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries who have come together to digitize the literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make it available as part of a global 'biodiversity commons.' The bulk of material in the BHL is in the public domain in the United States, meaning that the publication date is prior to 1923. Many of the collections contain rare published literature previously available only to those who could visit the institutions.

Users may search the entire library by multiple access points, read the texts online, or download selected pages or volumes as PDFs. For more information about what types of materials are included in the collection, see BHL's Collection Development Policy.

BioOne Complete aggregates 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. More than three-quarters of the subscribed titles are ranked in Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports, and 43% are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete. For User Guides and Tutorials see http://www.bioone.org/page/resources/researchers/tutorials.

Updated regularly. Collection of over 3600 books and reference works published by the Taylor & Francis group, covering biology, healthcare, biomedical engineering, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and more.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Birds of the World (BOW) is a research database that brings together scholarly content from four major works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World. It also merges millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. Includes over 10,800 species accounts with details on appearance, taxonomy, habitat, diet, breeding, behavior; 249 bird family accounts; range maps, eBird abundance maps, and animated migration maps; color illustrations of every species and many subspecies; media galleries showing the bird throughout its life cycle (photos, videos, and sound recordings from the Macaulay Library); an avian taxonomy explorer with regional filters, and more.

A first-stop reference source containing a wealth of basic chemical and physical data for compounds, as well as many other useful tables, constants and formulas, and definitions in the physical sciences.

Comprehensive Physiology is an authoritative collection of review content including the complete content from the landmark Handbook of Physiology series, expanded through a dynamic program of updates directed by a distinguished editorial advisory board.

Key Features

• More than 30,000 pages of classic content from the prestigious Handbook of Physiology series
• A world-class editorial team comprising leading names in the field
• Fully citable content, qualifying for abstracting, indexing, and ISI ranking

Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.

"EarthDoc is the full text content platform of the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers. Includes all papers published in the five EAGE journals plus papers from numerous EAGE and co-sponsored conferences. EAGE content covers geophysics, petroleum exploration, geology, reservoir engineering, mining and mineral exploration, civil engineering, tunneling and environmental topics.

This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior. The large section on animal cognition brings together many of the world's experts on the subject to provide a comprehensive overview of this rapidly developing area.

Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.

Updated weekly. Provides full text access to over 30 core journals from a variety of geoscience publishers.

Global Plants is a community-contributed database featuring more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images from the collections of over 300 herbaria around the world, including specimens contributed from The University of Texas at Austin. Related materials in the database include reference works and primary sources such as collector’s correspondence and diaries, paintings, drawings and photographs. Global Plants was initially known as JSTOR Plant Science.

Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.

Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.

If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Updated irregularly. Online access to lectures and talks by recognized experts. Series include

1. Agricultural Genetics
2. Antivirals
3. Vaccines
4. Antibiotic Resistance
5. The Cell Division Cycle
6. Gastroenterology and Hepatology
7. Epigenetics
8. Chloroplast
9. Nanomedicine
10. Evolutionary Physiology

This database integrates four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—to create the definitive international database for the history of science, technology and medicine. The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.

Updated regularly. Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA) coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents. Coverage extends back to the mid 1960s.

Upated regularly. A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants. A product of collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium.

Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Updated daily. Provides full text access to the publications of the Geological Society of London. Includes the full content of the Society's journals, Special Publications and key book series.

• Features Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, the Geological Society’s prestigious Special Publications, and the Engineering Geology Special Publications and Memoir book series.
• 14,000 peer-reviewed articles
• 230,000 pages of Earth science content
• Selected open access articles
• Free public access to abstracts and specially created extracts
• Full electronic functionality
• Fully searchable content throughout
• Active reference linking via CrossRef, GeoRef and ISI
• Free full text linking to many other key Earth science journals, including GeoScienceWorld

Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.

Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.

MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.

NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.

Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.

Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.

Corresponds in part to the following print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing.

Book series covering topics in enzymology. The full text of volumes from 1955 to present are available online.

Updated regularly. A multi-society library that provides a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.

Currently indexes more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently.

The following organizations are among those with their conference papers and technical documents indexed through OnePetro:

• American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
• American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
• Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)
• NACE International (corrosion engineers)
• Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) **includes full-text
• Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA)
• The Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
• World Petroleum Council (WPC)

Landing page for all Proquest databases with the exception of the History Vault.

Updated weekly. Provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

1. Click "Log in" in the top right-hand corner.
2. Chose "more login options".
3. Select "University of Texas at Austin".
4. Login with your UT EID and password.
5. Click on your login and select DASHBOARD.
6. Select NCBI Site Preferences
7. Under PubMed Preferences, select Outside Tool.
8. Select F and scroll down to select Find it@UT.

A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and ""Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

For Tips and Tutorials, please see the Sage Research Methods Tutorials page and the Sage Research Methods LibGuide.

Provides access to journals and proceedings from Latin America, South Africa and other developing countries. Strongest in science, medicine and public health, but also includes general social sciences and humanities.

Updated regularly. Contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.

Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect. Email alerts are available if you register.

Ebooks: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These ebooks are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.

Updated daily. Provides online access to content from one of the premier scientific publications and its related publications.

Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.

Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and selected ebooks published by Springer-Verlag.

Printed versions of University of Texas at Austin-owned ebooks can be purchased for $24.95 by persons with a .utexas email address. The Springer website for an ebook eligible for this purchase will display a message “BUY A PRINT COPY (USD 24.95)” or ""MyCopy Softcover Edition 24.95.""

See the FAQ for more information.

Updated regularly. Covers more than 60,000 protocols and methods. The platform allows searching across full-text of protocols and methods that are hosted on SpringerLink and Nature.com. This includes the following book series’ Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Neuromethods, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Springer Protocols Handbooks and Methods in Biotechnology in addition to the journals Nature Methods and Nature Protocols. Post search faceting is available by source, technique, and publication year. Select methods include video content. On campus or using VPN will link directly to full-text access provided by UT’s subscriptions. Off campus searching will allow identification of bibliographic information which can then be searched in the library catalog for access.

Updated daily. Provides information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published in the United States and throughout the world. Includes contact information for over 80,000 publishers.

Updated regularly. Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbook and includes Board Vitals. Stat!Ref is now part of TDS Health.

Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).

The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals published by John Wiley & Sons. Email alerts are available if you register.

Ebooks: Selected titles are available. May be read online, printed, and saved as PDFs. Unlimited users may access each book.

As of 2013, all AGU (American Geophysical Union) Journals are now hosted on Wiley Online Library. To search AGU Journals, please see the American Geophysical Union Earth and Space Index (EASI) Search.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide