Created by Paul Ginsparg at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico and launched in 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Berghahn Open Anthro is a subscribe-to-open model which means that libraries sign on to subscribe and if enough libraries sign up the work is open for all. Participating libraries get a discount, the journals are still financially supported, and all readers benefit.
Demography presents the highest-quality original research of scholars in a broad range of disciplines that includes anthropology, biology, economics, geography, history, psychology, public health, sociology, and statistics. Its geographic focus is global, with articles addressing demographic matters from around the planet. UT is a financial sponsor of this journal.
Environmental Humanities is a peer-reviewed, international, open-access journal. The journal publishes outstanding interdisciplinary scholarship that draws humanities disciplines into conversation with each other, and with the natural and social sciences, around significant environmental issues. UT financially sponsors Environmental Humanities in order to keep the content published free to readers and to authors.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication
Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.
Direct to Open harnesses collective action to support open access to excellent scholarship. The model will provide open access to all new MIT Press scholarly monographs and edited collections (~90 titles per year) from 2022 via recurring participation fees. UT Libraries are supporting both the HSS and STEM monograph collections.
Open Book Publishers is the largest open access publisher of academic monographs in the United Kingdom and one of the largest in the English-speaking world, publishing peer-reviewed works in the humanities and social sciences.
The Open Library of the Humanities (OLH) is a gold open access, peer-reviewed, internationally-supported, academic-led, not-for-profit, mega-journal, multi-journal and books platform for the humanities. It is funded by an international library consortium and so has no author-facing charges.
The OLH takes a broad, inclusive understanding of the academic humanities, from classics, religious studies and theology, modern languages and literatures through to political philosophy, musicology, critical legal studies, anthropology and newer subject areas such as critical theory and cultural studies, film, media and TV studies.
PhilPapers is a wide-ranging index of literature in philosophy, compiled from trawling techniques and crowd-sourcing to monitor research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives (in PhilArchives). The index currently includes over 2 million research books and articles. See details here.
Note “Terms & Conditions”, particularly section 4.
Compare to Philosopher’s Index.
Punctum Books is an open-access publisher dedicated to radically creative modes of intellectual inquiry and writing across a whimsical para-humanities assemblage (in which assemblage you will find humanists keeping rowdy and thought-provoking company with social scientists, scientists, multi/media specialists, artists, architects, and designers).
Libraries commit to making multi-year contributions to a common pool to create large aggregated digital collections that support the thematic focus of Diversity & Dissent in 20th-Century America. Reveal Digital develops collections from content contributed by special collections libraries, historical archives, and other cultural institutions. Source libraries receive complete digital files of their content (images and metadata with searchable text) to do with what they wish.
SAOA is a free open-access resource for research and teaching - a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia
TRAIL provides access to digitized copies of federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. Includes reports from agencies such as the Atomic Energy Commission, the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, the National Bureau of Standards, and the U.S. Bureau of Mines. A complete list of the included series is available at http://www.crl.edu/grn/trail/current-activities/series-list.