Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

HIS 346R: Revolution in Modern Latin America

Benson Primary Resources

Benson Archival Primary Resources

Some of our classtime was spent looking at documents from some of our archival collections. Here are links to the Finding Aids of our relevant archival collections, in addition to the materials from several of those collections. Don't forget that you can search the Texas Archival Resources Online for other archival materials in archives across the state, including the Benson Latin American Collection.

 

Ferrocarril Noroeste de Mexico

Business records (primarily correspondence) of the Mexico Northwestern Railway Company (Ferrocarril Noroeste de México), including materials about events of the Mexican Revolution and its effects on the operations of the Company, and the Company's relations with the governments of Mexico and the United States.

 

Mexican Railway Company Limited Records

Records document a British company's involvement in Mexican railroads in the early 1900s, especially during the Mexican Revolution.

 

Lazaro de la Garza Archive

Letters, telegrams, financial documents and other records of Lázaro de la Garza relate to the financial affairs of Francisco "Pancho" Villa and the business affairs of L. de la Garza Co., Inc. 

 

Genaro Garcia Collection: Broadsides and Circulars

Broadsides and printed circulars aquired by Genaro García from the 18th-20th centuries. Materials relate primarily to the history and politics in Mexico, particularly the Mexican War of Independence (1810-1821) and the Mexican Revolution (1910-1920). The collection contains reprints of documents by and about key political figures in the 19th and early 20th centuries, including Agustín Iturbide, Maximilian, Emperor of Mexico, Benito Juárez, Antonio López de Santa Anna, Porfirio Díaz, Venustiano Carranza, Victoriano Huerta, Pancho Villa, and Emiliano Zapata.

 

Joyce Horman and Edmund Horman Papers, 1973-

Papers of Joyce Horman and Edmund Horman, wife and father of Charles Horman who was abducted and executed during Pinochet's September 1973 coup d'état in Chile. The Hormans sued Henry Kissinger and Nixon Administration officials over Charles Horman's wrongful death and its concealment.

 

George Lister Papers, 1887-2004 (bulk 1936-2003) 

The personal and professional papers of George Lister (1913-2004), who served for sixty years as Foreign Service Officer and Human Rights Officer with the United States Department of State. Correspondence, reports and other documents detail his human rights work, speaking engagements and other affairs.

 

Philip Pasmanick Collection of Nicaraguan Materials

Collection of materials documenting Nicaraguan literacy, health education, and economic programs during the successful Sandinista revolution and the post-revolution government of the Sandinista National Liberation Front, FSLN. Also included are materials documenting U.S.-based solidarity groups and individuals who supported the Sandinistas against the Contras, the U.S. government-backed right-wing millitant group that was active from 1979 to the early 1990s.

 

Ernesto Cardenal Papers

The personal papers of Nicaraguan poet, sculptor, priest, and political activist, Ernesto Cardenal. The collection consists of correspondence, writings by Cardenal, newspaper clippings and writings by others related to Cardenal, photographs, biographical materials, and audiovisual materials. These combined items provide a comprehensive look at Cardenal's impact as a writer, liberation theologist, and activist in Nicaragua, Latin America, and beyond.

 

Nicaragua Network Records

Records of the U.S./Nicaragua solidarity organization Nicaragua Network include publications, correspondence, conference, and delegation records. The Nicaragua Network was founded in 1979 to support social and economic justice for Nicaragua based on respect for sovereignty and self-determination. The Nicaragua Network provides information and organizing tools to solidarity, sister city, and peace and justice activists.

 

Kristin Cheasty Anderson Collection on Sandinista Healthcare Reforms

This collection contains official reports, government publications, and correspondence about the healthcare reforms enacted by the Sandinista government in Nicaragua; as well as papers, news clippings, and correspondence about the Mexican Catholic Apostolic Church.

 

Miscellaneous Manuscripts

There are manuscripts on every topic in this collection. But if you search the page for the word 'revolution' you will find manuscripts on The Mexican, Guatemalan, Bolivian, and Salvadoran Revolutions.

 

Actas Mecanografiadas de la causa No. 13 originalmente instruida por el Consejo Supremo de las Fuerzas Armadas

Photocopies of case transcripts of testimonies by 828 witesses at the 1985 trial of nine Argentine military commanders.

 

Committee in Solidarity with the People of El Salvador (CISPES), Dallas Office Records

Records of CISPES, including documents and news media documenting their work related to the civil war in El Salvador.

 

Eduardo Sarno Collection of Leftist Movements in Brazil

1945-1991, Documents, flyers, pamphlets, journals, magazines, and ephemera related to new older and newly formed leftist movements in Brazil, especially during the 1970s and 1980s.

 

Revolution and Counterrevolution in Guatemala, 1944-1963

This is a massive collection of street and other ephemeral publications in Guatemala.

 

Collection of Uruguayan Political Propaganda, 1963-1984

Small collection of materials created by a broad range of organizations and interest groups in Uruguay, from the government to the Tupamaros and the Convención Nacional de Trabajadores.

 

 

 

 

Contact

AJ Johnson
 

‚Äč

 

 

 

AJ Johnson
Caribbean Studies
aj@austin.utexas.edu
512 495-4586


Melissa Guy
South American Studies   m.guy@austin.utexas.edu 
512 495-4591

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.