LibGuides: AMS 370-The World of Soccer (Iván Chaar López): Example Projects

Blog: The Soccer Analytics Revolution

The Soccer Analytics Revolution

Technology used

Wordpress- note, Wordpress comes in two options
- Wordpress.com- free to sign up for an account, no installation necessary, have to pay for additional features
- Wordpress.org- the full open source version will all the features, you need to install yourself
Web hosting

Getting Started

Alternatives

Digital Book: Sound and Documentary in Cardiff and Miller's Pandemonium

Sound and Documentary in Cardiff and Miller's Pandemonium

Technology used

Scalar

Getting Started

Scalar User Guide

Alternatives

Wordpress
- Wordpress.com- free to sign up for an account, no installation necessary, have to pay for additional features
- Wordpress.org- the full open source version will all the features, you need to install yourself
Omeka.net

Map: Relaciones Geográficas

Relaciones Geográficas
Among the holdings of the Benson Latin American Collection, Joaquín García Icazbalceta's Collection of Relaciones Geográficas of Mexico and Guatemala is consistently a major attraction for visiting scholars. The collection comprises original manuscript accounts and artistic renditions of the local geography with dates ranging from 1578 to 1586. There were 191 responses to this questionnaire, of which the present location of 167 are known, including the 43 held by the Benson Latin American Collection. The other known existing Relaciones Geográficas are held by the Archivo General de Indias, Seville, and the Real Academia de la Historia, Madrid.

Technology used

Getting Started

Presenting Geospatial Research with ArcGIS

Alternatives

StoryMapJS
See Guide to DH Mapping

Gallery of Primary Sources + Visualization: Mirable Visu

Mirable Visu: Art of the Aeneid
Mirabile Visu is a digital collection featuring 300 images of artistic depictions from Vergil's opus. The collection was compiled of metadata systematically gathered using cultural heritage APIs from galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Technology used

APIs from Europeana, Rijiksmuseum, Metropolitan Museum of Art
OpenRefine
Omeka Classic
Reclaim Hosting
Tableau

Getting Started

Alternatives

Web publishing
Data visualization
- RAWGraphs
- Datawrapper

Network Visualization: Visualizing Social Networks: Palladio and the Encyclopédistes

Visualizing Social Networks: Palladio and the Encyclopédistes, Pt I
There are numerous digital tools for studying networks that can be of use to humanists. One such tool is Palladio, a digital humanities package developed in the Humanities + Design Lab at Stanford University.[1] Palladio lends itself to qualitative studies because the visualizations that it produces (maps, network diagrams, and tables) are familiar to most humanists, and because it allows for the filtering of data through categories chosen by the user. Digital tools offer an opportunity to pursue such research with lower technical barriers to intervention—including easier communication, tools for sharing data, and collaborating on writing. Visualization tools like Palladio allow academics to produce their own diagrams without necessarily hiring a designer.
Visualizing Social Networks: Palladio and the Encyclopédistes, Pt II
In this post, we will focus on how we can use Palladio to visualize networks. A network can link people, places, books, or any other entities that are connected to one another. People or groups are commonly nodes in graphs of social networks. The Age of Revolutions provides many examples of networks that can be studied from a theoretical or a technical perspective: courts, Masonic temples, literary circles, Jacobin clubs, militias, scholarly and correspondence networks—to name a few.

Technology used

Data transformation and manipulation (exact tools unknown)
Metadata schema
Palladio

Getting Started

Alternatives

Social Media Analysis: Tweets of a Native Son

Tweets of Native Son
Many people, not just writers and scholars, have noticed that Baldwin’s words keep showing up on their Twitter newsfeeds. Many people, myself included, have felt the impulse to tweet Baldwin’s words, especially in relationship to the climate of racism in 21st-century America and the #BlackLivesMatter movement that protests against it.

Technology used

Getting Started

Alternatives

Acknowledgements

Thanks to my colleagues Adriana Cásarez and Albert Palacios for allowing me to showcase their excellent Digital Humanities scholarship. Inspiration for this page comes from Miriam Posner's How Did They Make That?