LibGuides: AMS 370: Society, Culture, and Politics in the 1960s / Mickenberg: Home

What's in this Guide?

This library research guide was designed for the Society, Culture and Politics in the 1960s course, taught by Dr. Julia Mickenberg.

On This Guide

Find instructions on how and where to find background information, scholarly sources and primary sources.
View "Campus and Local Archives" to read more on visiting local archives in-person and viewing their digital collections online.
Under "More Help", you'll also find other important information about library services, citation help and writing support.

Research Help

Your course librarian, Adriana, is available for one-on-one research appointments to help you with your research. Contact her via email with questions or schedule an appointment using the links to the right.
You can also get quick research help through our Ask A Librarian live chat service.

Best Bets

Primary Sources

The Sixties: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
- Through letters, diaries, memoirs, oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials, the collection tells the story of the 60s.
- To find videos: Visit this Browse page to view video content. You can also do an "Advanced Search" and check the box next to "Format" to only select video results.
Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Through letters, diaries, memoirs, oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials, the collection tells the story of the 60s. Themes include: civil rights, counter-culture, mass and underground media, sexual revolution, student activism, the Vietnam War, and women's rights.

"By Topic" tab on the Find Primary (Documentary) Sources page

Secondary Sources

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Course Librarian

Adriana Cásarez

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: African American Studies, African and African Diaspora Studies, American Studies, Asian American Studies, Native American and Indigenous Studies