LibGuides: English Literature: Scholarly Journals & Databases

English Literature Databases

Literature Journals
General/ Multidisciplinary

MLA International Bibliography
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).
Project MUSE Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Ebooks: Selected ebook titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions, and titles are accessible on some mobile devices. For further information, please consult the FAQ or tutorials and user guides
.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Updated quarterly. Provides annotated citations for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to William Shakespeare. Coverage is international.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Updated quarterly. Provides a current bibliography for over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) used for research and teaching on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
To access the database, choose the "Enter databases" button and then the "GO" button.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Updated periodically. Provides bibliographic access to published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.

Google Scholar

Use the power of Google's search algorithm just for scholarly content!

Go through this library link so that your search results include the FindIt@UT button, which will provide you with the article PDFs through our library subscriptions. Never pay for an article!

What is a Library Database?

Your instructor or subject librarian may throw around the term "library database" a lot, but what exactly do they mean? This video from RMIT University in Australia explains the term and how you can use databases for research. (Plus, the narrator has a great accent!)

Transcript available through YouTube.

UT Journals Search

Search for journals by title. Helpful when you want to browse the most recent issues of a particular title.

UT Journals Search

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations and theses are works created by graduate students and are intended to be the culmination of a student's scholarly work. They are often valuable research tools, especially their bibliographies. Keep in mind that the editing process for dissertations and theses are different from books and articles, and in some cases, dissertations are revised and later published as books.

Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This database provides the full text of dissertations and theses published in North America, most after 1997.
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.
Texas ScholarWorks This link opens in a new window
You can find dissertations and theses by UT students in Texas ScholarWorks. You can find older dissertations and these in print by searching the library catalog.
Updated regularly. Holds digital works and provides related services that constitute an institutional repository for the University of Texas at Austin. Archives and provides persistent and reliable access to the digital works of faculty, staff, and students and aims to provide the greatest possible dissemination and recognition to these works as possible. Digital works include research and scholarship, as well as works that reflect the intellectual and service environment of the campus.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required