Pull keywords from titles, abstracts, subject terms and journal or publication titles as you glance over your results. Write down the new words you are learning, the disciplines people are writing in, the directions or themes you see popping up. Like this:
I did a clumsy keyword search in Academic Search Complete (linked below): Fracking and Pollution (yes, I actually wrote fracking and the database picked up on the synonym; that is not consistent across databases). Here is a screenshot of a portion of my results and how I looked at that list to circle alternate keywords and highlight stakeholders or disciplines.
Multidisciplinary, searches journals, magazines and newspapers. A little bit of everything!
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.
Our most robust database for daily newspapers, magazines, tv and radio transcripts, Congressional committee hearings, briefings from State, Justice and Defense departments, federal and state cases and related info. I made a screenshot, below, to help you navigate.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.
You probably want to search Google, huh? Don't be embarrassed! Here's a couple head's ups:
Your results list is going to be very long
Unless you brainstorm a very effective keyword search, your top results may not be relevant
Use Google Scholar! But use the link in the ARTICLES tab on the main UT Libraries homepage because when you're off-campus, it signs you into our subscriptions! Here's the link. If you use Google Scholar, access the Advanced Search (which is lousy) by clicking the downward arrow in the search box. Also, remember that not everything in Google Scholar is scholarly. Evaluate each and every source (see evaluation tab if you need support).