LibGuides: UGS 303: Dealing with Disaster in the Ancient World / Taylor: Scholarly Articles

Databases I recommend for this class

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Collects international scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization...and auxiliary disciplines like archaeology.
Updated annually. Corresponds to the printed L'Annee Philologique, the international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and classical studies. Provides 350,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to the present, with 12,500 new records added each year. The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology and archaeology.
Updated quarterly. Brings together into one searchable resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. A Source Titles List is available.
DYABOLA (Free) This link opens in a new window
This resource often only provides the citation. Use the box on this page about following citations to get access to those articles. There is a paid version of DYABOLA, but it's harder to search.
This is the free version of the DYABOLA database. DYABOLA (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity) provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database grabs results from many disciplines and searches full text - which means a lot of results.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Find articles from citations

In your themes list, you will see that Professor Taylor has included some article starting points. This is very helpful! You get an insight into what a great article about this topic is, and you get to use the references in that article to find more great sources.

How do you find that article? Use scoUT on www.lib.utexas.edu - the ALL or Articles tab allows you to type all or some of the citation and search for which database holds it.
Scroll down to the references, bibliography, works cited - what articles does this author use in his or her argument? You can use this list to see what theories, ideas or claims this author is affirming, refuting or using as evidence. Research builds upon research.

First, you need to decide if something is a book or an article.

A citation for a book will have the author, the book title (often in italics) and the publisher:

Bursik, Robert J., Jr. and Harold G. Grasmick. 1993. Neighborhoods and Crime: The Dimensions of Effective Community Control. New York: Lexington Books.

A citation for an article will usually be longer. There will be the author(s) name, the title of the article (usually in quotation marks) and then the name of the publication (journal, magazine, or newspaper) (usually in italics) the article came from:

Aseltine, Robert H., Jr. and Ronald C. Kessler. 1993. “Marital Disruption and Depression in a Community Sample.” Journal of Health and Social Behavior 34(3):237-51.

You can search for the book in our catalog on www.lib.utexas.edu (blue search box > Catalog tab).
For articles, search our Journals tab for the title of the publication to see if we have it electronically or in print. You'll need to check the correct volume, issue and date.

Try this! Sometimes you can just copy and paste part of the citation into scoUT, a tool that searches across our databases. Doesn't always work!

Request from another Library (Interlibrary Loans)

Interlibrary Loan
If any articles you need are not available from UT, you may place a request for the item with Interlibrary Loan!

This is a free service for current UT students, faculty and staff. UT-affiliated users can request books, articles, chapters and more from other libraries.

Interlibrary loan is intended to fill the need for items that UT Libraries may not own or if current resources have been lost.