LibGuides: UGS 303: Dealing with Disaster in the Ancient World / Taylor: Narrow your topic

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Online
Print

Use this selection of online encyclopedias and dictionaries to find background information, overviews and key resources from articles' bibliographies

The Oxford classical dictionary, 4th edition
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome
The encyclopedia of ancient history
select: "Search in this book"

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Use this selection of print encyclopedias and dictionaries to find background information, overviews and key resources from bibliographies. Some are duplicated online; some are print only.

Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world : Antiquity v.1-15
The Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites, 1972. Classic text.

Perseus online version of this title

What about Wikipedia?

For some of your topics, Wikipedia can be helpful in narrowing.

Why do most instructors frown upon using Wikipedia articles?

Because they do not have named authors - anyone can edit or contribute so you can't verify the expertise of the author.

If you find something in a Wikipedia article that is of interest, make sure it is cited - click on the number after the end of the sentence and take a look at what is cited. Do you trust that source?