These serial data collections began in the late 1970s. Emphasis is on thermal properties, phase equilibria (VLE, LLE, SLE), PVT, and transport properties for systems consisting of small, commercially important organic molecules in the fluid phase. (The library no longer purchases new volumes in these series.) Series titles, all located in the Chemistry Reference collection:
Vapor-liquid equilibrium data collection. (QD 503 G59)
Critical data of pure substances. (QD 511.8 S555 1986)
Heats of mixing data collection. (TP 156 M5 H43 1984)
Recommended data of selected compounds and binary mixtures. (QD 526 S74 1987)
Liquid-liquid equilibrium data collection. (QD 503 S67)
Vapor-liquid equilibrium for mixtures of low boiling substances. (QD 503 V36 1982)
Solid-liquid equilibrium data collection. (QD 503 K55 1987)
Activity coefficients at infinite dilution. (QD 541 A28 1986)
Thermal conductivity and viscosity data of fluid mixtures. (QC 145.4 T5 S74 1988)
Phase equilibria and phase diagrams of electrolytes. (QD 565 E64 1990)
Electrolyte data collection. (QD 565 B35 1993)
Polymer solution data collection. (QD 381.9 S65 H36 1992)
Solubility and related properties of large complex chemicals. (QD 543 M385 2003)
Covers interactions for aqueous systems of organic and inorganic ligands with protons and various metal ions. It is an expanded and corrected update of Critical Stability Constants (Martell and Smith, Plenum Press, 1974-89). Includes 22,898 protonation constants under specified conditions of temperature and ionic strength for over 4,700 ligands, along with 3429 heats of protonation and 3016 entropies of protonation. Note: The legacy NIST 46 Version 8.0 software is available free on the NIST site as an .exe file. It runs only on 32-bit Windows XP and earlier, requiring an emulator. The User Guide is available online. NIST no longer supports or updates this database.
The National Standard Reference Data Series comprised 72 titles focused on physical, spectral, and radiochemical data compilations and critical reviews. Some were later updated in JPCRD and its supplements. Most are available free on the NIST web site. Indexing: A cumulative property index covering nos. 1-42 of this series plus other NSRDS publications between 1964 and 1972 was published in no.55. The cumulative property index in v.5 (1976) of JPCRD also included entries for nos. 43-58 of this series.
A journal that reported thermodynamic properties of non-reacting organic binary systems in a standard tabular format. UT owns only 1973-77 and 1985-95 plus an index volume.
Solubility Data Series
Call Number: QD 543 S6629 CHEM REF
A useful source of evaluated solubility data for hard-to-locate systems, SDS was originally published as a book series by Pergamon Press. It has since continued within the JPCRD; use the journal's search feature to find them. 18 volumes are included in the IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database. The library lacks some volumes.
Do people really still look stuff up in handbooks?
Yes, they do. Or, at least they should. Much of the data published in handbooks and compilations doesn't exist digitally anywhere. But a thorough search for data needs to include them. How? We have a tool for you.
Finding desired data in the print collection of a technical library can be really hard. Hardest of all is knowing what sources you might look in, and where they are.
ThermoDex is a finding aid that lists about 300 such tools, with a description and listing of the types of data and compounds covered by each. And you can search by these parameters to pull up a list of possible sources to consult in the library. Give it a try!