Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

South Asian Popular and Pulp Fiction

UT's Popular and Pulp Fiction Collection

Popular and Pulp Fiction at UT

       

The University of Texas at Austin Libraries is developing a collection of popular and pulp fiction in the regional languages of South Asia. These novels, novellas and serialized stories help us challenge what qualifies as “worthy” both in terms of style and substance while also providing a unique lens through which themes of gender, sexuality, caste & religion, authority can be explored.  Beyond literary content, the graphic covers are also of great interest.

The entire collection is discoverable through the UT Library catalog, including by language:

For more background on the collection and its continued growth, see TexLibris blog posts from May 2015June 2016February 2017 and February 2018.

The collection is UT's "niche" contribution to the South Asia Cooperative Collection Development Workshops.

Exhibits

 

We have been creating small exhibits as introductions to authors and themes within the Popular and Pulp Fiction Collection.  Please visit:

  • "Ibne Safi," by Nicole Marino, which highlights one of the largest collections of the author's works, primarily in Urdu but also in Hindi and English translation.
  • "Indra Soundarajan," by Daniel Dillon, an introduction to the prolific Tamil author's life and works.
  • "Kottayam Pushpanath," by Darsana Mayanathu Sasi, about one of the most significant detective novelists in Malayalam.
  • "Representations of Women in South India," by Daniel Dillon, which highlights trends from cover design.

 

Transliterating South Asian Languages

The ALA/LC Transliteration Tables are specific systems for converting from a non-roman script to a romanized one. UT Libraries' Catalog and WorldCat (FirstSearch) follow this system exclusively for transliteration.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.