LibGuides: Artificial Intelligence (AI): Researching AI

Resources for Researching AI

AI changes so quickly that it can be difficult to keep up with the latest innovations. Furthermore, this rate of rapid change makes it challenging to find sources that balance the opportunities and possibilities of utilizing AI with the threats made possible by misuse of the technology. The following suggested resources are provided as starting points for researching various aspects of AI. Please note that this list is not intended to be exhaustive. If you have questions about these or other sources, please feel free to reach out to a UT librarian!

IEEE Computer Society
Resource page with an overview of current career opportunities and how the field is expanding to new industry sectors.
SAS Institute
This site offers some useful background information, including history, potential uses, and trends. Note: this is a private company, not a research institute.
The AI Podcast
Podcast with interviews and stories exploring AI across the world
The Algorithmic Justice League: Working for Equitable and Accountable AI
An organization that combines art and research to highlight the social implications and harms of AI.
The AI Now Institute
Produces diagnosis and actionable policy research on AI.
MIT DAILy Curriculum on AI
The Daily-AI workshop, designed by MIT educators and experienced facilitators, features hands-on and computer-based activities on AI concepts, ethical issues in AI, creative expression using AI, and how AI relates to your future.

Library Databases

Find scholarly resources on AI using suggested databases. Since AI now touches many academic disciplines, this is an abbreviated list:

Web of Science
Covers more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines.
Compendex
Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records.
INSPEC
Indexes the research literature of computers and control, physics; electrical engineering and electronics. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Subject coverage includes online information retrieval, information management, librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics.