LibGuides: U.S. Latina/o Teatro, Performance and New Media Studies: Welcome

How to Use this Guide

The Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection is one of the premier libraries in the world focused on Latin America and Latina/o Studies. This guide promotes studies in Latina/o theater, performance, and new media in the United States with a particular focus on performativity, the body, and identity. The following points researchers to some of the best resources for general and archival research on Latina/o theater and performance studies. While these resources are not exhaustive or always canonical, they should provide different directions for scholarly inquiry. Check the tabs on the left for relevant sources that can serve as starting points for any topic you are researching.

For a broader look at theater and performance studies, feel free to peruse the LibGuide made by the UT Libraries' subject liaison, which can be found here.

Need more assistance? Contact me by phone or email for research help or to set up a consultation.

Core Sources for U.S. Latina/o Teatro, Performance, and New Media Studies

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
1967 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1982 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains full text for more than 100 journal titles and citations for more than 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Includes all of the content available in the 14 volume print International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, published by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
Dance Online: Dance in Video Vol. I-IV This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly until completion. Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover performances of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies and experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes. Dance in Video, Vol. IV includes Dancio, “an exceptional catalog of world-class instructors each offering Dancio expertise across an array of diverse dance styles ranging from ballet to contemporary.”
Users may also make isolated clips from the videos and save them in a free account available for registration set up within the database.
Additional information on basic system requirements for both PC and Mac platforms is available on the site.
Theatre in Context Collection This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly (until completed). A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. Includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 30,000 plays (many never published previously), over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions and 2,500 production companies. It also includes over 40,000 pages of reference sources in electronic format, including Annals of the New York Stage, and the American Theatre Companies series. Thousands of posters, playbills, and photographs are also included, as well as links to plays and related Web sites.

Oxford Bibliographies for Latino Studies
Concisely addresses some of the more pressing issues in Latina/o Studies with a brief overview of Latina/o theater.

Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Search works just like a regular Google search -- when book content contains a match for selected search terms, Google provides links to it in the search results. Depending on a few factors, Google displays everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book.

Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books.

TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state which are available to the public. Consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online. A list of participating TARO repositories is available.

Contact

Maribel Falcón

Email Me

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required