The interdisciplinary nature of this Pop-Up Institute brings together a cross section of people and topics from the medical, humanities, and social science arenas. Thus, there are library resources that broadly address this interdisciplinary field and library resources that hover in on specific aspects. Explore the library resources listed under each tab to meet your informational and research needs.
Bottoms Up!
by
"The reader will note," Dr. Ober explains, "that psychopathology occupies a prominent place in these essays--melancholia, masochism, hysteria, autoerotic asphyxia, and other dinner table topics." The book opens with a brisk discussion of flagellation--studded with rare illustrations. Like all of the essays in the book, this is an illuminating chapter, scholarly and good natured at the same time, and one that gives rise to speculation concerning human nature and human history.Ober provides medical answers to many mysteries. In a discussion of infertility in the Bible, he speculates medically as to why Onan and his older brother Er died during coitus. In the eyes of the doctor, these biblical antiheros may deserve our pity, but not our scorn. He also explains the role of Reuben's man-drakes in fertilizing the barren Rachel. Equally fascinating is his discussion of the mandrake, a wondrous weed and sire of legend and superstition. Ober shows why an unfamiliar composer named Frantisek Koczwara got himself hanged in a London whorehouse. He tells of the aborted homosexual sadism in Robert Musil; the murder, madrigals, and masochism in the life of composer Carlo Gesualdo; the iconography of leprosy; the iconography of "Fanny ""Hill "(or how to illustrate a dirty book); the melancholia of Johnson and Boswell; the short, miserable life of Rimbaud; and other mysteries to which medicine may hold the key.
The Chief Concern of Medicine
by
Unlike any existing studies of the medical humanities, The Chief Concern of Medicinebrings to the examination of medical practices a thorough---and clearly articulated---exposition of the nature of narrative. The book builds on the work of linguistics, semiotics, narratology, and discourse theory and examines numerous literary works and narrative "vignettes" of medical problems, situations, and encounters. Throughout, the book presents usable expositions of the ways storytelling organizes itself to allow physicians and other healthcare workers (and even patients themselves) to be more attentive to and self-conscious about the information---the "narrative knowledge"---of the patient's story.
Communicating Disease
by
Communicating Disease focuses on the intersections of literature and medicine. It unravels the intricate entanglement of culture and disease and is devoted to the representation of life through medical narratives, exploring its value to both the literary critic and the medical practitioner. Grouped in four sections, the contributions to this volume discuss cultural representations of medical practice, the medical profession, diseases and epidemics, and potential healing functions of narratives. Topics range from eighteenth-century Old and New World practices of medicine via the careers of nineteenth-century women doctors and nurses subverting dominant gender norms, to twentieth- and twenty-first-century cognitive sciences; from smallpox epidemics via yellow fever to AIDS and biotechnology; from Alice James and Charlotte Perkins Gilman to Siri Hustvedt and Richard Powers as well as women pathologists on the screen; to be concluded by a transnational reading of the world of medicine in the medium of literature.
Creative Arts in Humane Medicine
by
Creative Arts in Humane Medicine is a book for medical educators, practitioners, students and those in the allied health professions who wish to learn how the arts can contribute toward a more caring and empathic approach to medicine. Topical research and inspiring real-life accounts from international innovators in the field of humanistic medicine show how the creative arts in varied forms can contribute toward greater learning and understanding in medicine, as well as improved health and quality of life for patients and practitioners.
Creativity and Disease
by
Dr. Sandblom explores the intriguing connections between illness, art and creativity. He elucidates the ways in which specific ailments affect the creative personality. Discussing the influence of mental illness, physical infirmity, pain and addiction on 140 authors, artists and composers-among them Byron, Dostoyevsky and William Styron, artists Goya, Klee and Monet, and composers Mozart, Schumann and Beethoven.In this twelfth revised and enlarged edition of a ground-breaking study on the life and work of some of our greatest artists, Dr Philip Sandblom explores the intriguing connections between illness, art and creativity. He elucidates the ways in which specific ailments inform and influence the creative personality and discusses the effects of mental illness, drug addiction and severe pain on 140 authors, artists and composers. Many outstanding talents are discussed - among them Byron, Walter Scott, Dostoevsky, Flaubert, Proust and William Saroyan, the artists Goya, Frida Kahlo, Klee, Matisse and Monet, and the composers Mozart, Schumann and Beethoven. Heavily illustrated, the book contains over 100 paintings and drawings in color and black and white. Dr Philip Sandblom was born in Chicago in 1903 and educated in Sweden where he became professor of surgery and, later, President of the University of Lund. He is an honorary fellow of the Royal College of Surgery in England, Edinburgh and Ireland, and of the American College of Surgeons. 'The fantastic erudition of this volume is heightened by the simplicity of its style: informal, chatty, with sly wit, impressive in range and content."?Annals of Surgery
The Culture of Biomedicine
by
This wide-ranging but well-integrated anthology is the first volume in a new series sponsored by the Center for Science and Culture at the University of Delaware. The theme of this book is the possibility of developing a unified worldview, in which the perspectives of science and the humanities work together in the effort to understand the human condition.
Health Humanities
by
This is the first manifesto for Health Humanities worldwide. It sets out the context for this emergent and innovative field which extends beyond Medical Humanities to advance the inclusion and impact of the arts and humanities in healthcare, health and well-being.
The Rise of Autobiographical Medical Poetry and the Medical Humanities
by
In this fascinating book, Johanna Emeney examines the global proliferation of new poetry related to illness and medical treatment from the perspective of doctors, patients, and carers in light of the growing popularity of the medical humanities. She provides a close analysis of poetry from New Zealand, the U.S., and the U.K. that deals with sociological and philosophical aspects of sickness, ailment, medical treatment, care, and recuperation.
Using the Arts and Humanities to Teach Nursing
by
The volumes in this popular series provide nurse educators with material to help them plan, conduct, and evaluate their instructional goals and accomplishments. The series addresses a broad spectrum of teaching situations, classroom settings, and clinical instruction-supervision. The authors give a general introduction to literature, television, film, and fine arts along with advantages and disadvantages of using each in nursing. They then describe selected nursing concepts, and provide specific examples of works of art that can be used to illustrate each. The book is designed so that nurse educators can integrate this material into standard nursing courses on all levels of nursing education, including staff development.
UT Libraries has upgraded to a new platform for access to library resources. At this time, both the new and old journal search boxes are active and working during the transition. Here is the new search box:
Use the Journal Search box (above) to check if the UT Libraries subscribe to each journal and to access the journal content.
These journals are are freely available to everyone, no subscription necessary.
Unlimited users.
Provides access to articles from many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887.
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.
Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.
Unlimited users.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.