LibGuides: AMS 370: Preserving ATX Queer History: Welcome + Newspapers & Magzines

Welcome!

Welcome to the library guide for AMS 370: Preserving Queer ATX History, taught by Dr. Lauren Gutterman. Your course librarian is Gina Bastone. Gina visited your class on Friday, July 15.

Research on queer history can be challenging, but the library is here to help you. You have several options for getting research help:

Email Gina, your course librarian, if you run into issues finding articles and primary sources. Her email address is g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu
Schedule a research consult via Zoom – get live help from Gina.
Use the Ask A Librarian Chat Service, available until 9 pm, Sunday-Thursday. (This option is good for help after 5 pm.)

Library Databases: Newspapers, Magazines, & Periodicals

The library provides searchable archives to several local & national newspapers, magazines, and independent/underground publications.

We used these four databases in class on Friday, July 15. Gina recommends trying searches in these databases for your biography assignment on your own. Remember, you can always contact Gina if you need assistance.

Daily Texan This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of the Daily Texan student newspaper from 1900-2019. See this guide for further instructions on how to find articles in the Daily Texan.
Austin American Statesman (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Austin's primary local newspaper with articles from 1871-1975. If you need articles from 1976 onward, see the Finding News guide, and ask Gina if you need additional help.
Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. As the leading newspaper in the capital of Texas, the Historical Austin American Statesman provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of this important state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century. The paper has strong central Texas coverage, especially for political reporting.
More recent issues are available in LexisNexis Academic, Factiva and Library PressDisplay.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
A collection of independent, underground, and activist newspapers, newsletters, zines and DIY publications. Includes the Austin student paper The Rag from the 1960s and 70s, as well as several queer and feminist newsletters.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
A collection of alternative weeklies and independent newspapers from 1970 to the present.
NOTE: Only 4 UT Austin users can access this database at the same time. Please close your browser window when you finish using it so others in the class can access it.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.

Other Newspapers, Magazines, & Websites

New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the New York Times from 1851-2018. For more recent articles, please see the Finding News guide.
Updated annually. Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
More recent years are also available in other full text resources.
Dallas Morning News (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The major daily newspaper for Dallas/Fort Worth, with articles from 1885-1984.
Provides comprehensive coverage for one of the largest daily newspapers in Texas. Accessible by keyword and date searching. Documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world, providing valuable primary source information. Includes classified and display advertising, photos and graphics.

Austin Chronicle
Austin's alternative weekly newspaper since 1981.
NOTE: This link goes to the Chronicle's website, not a library database. Search options are limited, but the full back file from 1981 to the present is available.

Humanities Librarian

Gina Bastone

she/they

Contact:

g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Disability Studies, English Literature, LGBTQ Studies, Rhetoric, Women's and Gender Studies