Archival Studies

Started in 1989, the Academy is an independent, nonprofit certifying organization of professional archivists.

The Archives and Records Association is the lead professional body for archivists, archive conservators and records managers in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Started in 1979, the ARI discusses matters of concern to archivists in religious institutions and agencies. Membership includes many "lone arrangers" from small-scale archival repositories.

Formerly the Association of Records Managers and Administrators, ARMA International is a nonprofit association that promotes standards and guidelines.

Started in 1975, the ACA represents Canadian archivists. It provides archival profession leadership and facilitates an appreciation of Canada's archival heritage.

Started in 1990, the AMIA is a nonprofit international association dedicated to the preservation and use of moving image media. Three Texas archives are listed in their resource directory called Deep Focus.

Started in 1989, the CoSA works to strengthen state and territorial archives to preserve America's historical records. CoSA maintains a directory of the professional archives association for the states plus the District of Columbia, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Samoa, and the Virgin Islands.

The mission of the ICA is to promote the preservation and use of archives around the world. The ICA works for the protection and enhancement of the memory of the world and to improve communication while respecting cultural diversity.

Started in 1938, the FIAF is dedicated to the preservation of, and access to, the world’s film heritage.

Started in 1989, the IRMT is a UK-registered charity that works with governments to: strengthen records systems related to human resources, financial and court records, and for the right to information and open data.

Started in 1970,The Irish Society for Archives promotes archives in Irish society. It publishes Irish Archives, a twice-annual newsletter and organizes lectures on topics of interest to archivists, the users of archives and the wider public.

Starting in 1972, as the nation's largest regional professional associations for archivists, MAC now has more than 800 members and serves 13 heartland states.

Started in 1974, NAGARA is a professional non-profit association dedicated to the improvement of federal, state, and local government records and information management and the professional development of government records administrators and archivists.

Started in 1977, the Northwest Archivists is a regional association of professional archivists, users of archives, and others interested in the preservation and use of archival materials in the Pacific Northwest.

RBMS of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), is a division of the American Library Association. RBMS promotes the interests of librarians who work with rare books, manuscripts, and other special collections.

Started in 1936, the Society is North America's oldest and largest professional association.

Started in 1972, the SSA works to stimulate and make available research in archival administration, promote principles and standards, and foster opportunities for education and training.