Astronomy & Astrophysics

Aladin is an interactive sky atlas allowing the user to visualize digitized astronomical images or full surveys, superimpose entries from astronomical catalogues or databases, and interactively access related data and information from the Simbad database, the VizieR service and other archives for all known astronomical objects in the field. Available in desktop or Javascript web versions.

AIE is a database with hundreds of thousands of images published in the journals of the AAS.

Free online registry and repository for source codes of interest to astronomers and astrophysicists, including solar system astronomers, and lists codes that have been used in research that has appeared in, or been submitted to, peer-reviewed publications.

The CDS hosts the SIMBAD astronomical database, the world reference database for the identification of astronomical objects; VizieR, the catalogue service for the CDS reference collection of astronomical catalogues and tables published in academic journals; and the Aladin interactive software sky atlas for access, visualization and analysis of astronomical images, surveys, catalogues, databases and related data.

ESDC, located at the European Space Astronomy Centre (ESAC) in Madrid, provides services and tools to access and retrieve observations and data from ESA's space science missions (astronomy, planetary science and heliophysics).

MPC is the single worldwide location for receipt and distribution of positional measurements of minor planets, comets and outer irregular natural satellites of the major planets. The MPC is responsible for the identification, designation and orbit computation for all of these objects.

MAST is an astronomical data archive focused on the optical, ultraviolet, and near-infrared. MAST hosts data from over a dozen missions like Webb, Hubble, TESS, Kepler, and in the future Roman.

NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. The contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies.

DATA.NASA.GOV is NASA's clearinghouse site for open-data provided to the public, listing tens of thousands of datasets. The majority of dataset pages on data.nasa.gov only hold metadata for each dataset. It is common for the actual data to be held on other NASA archive sites. Data.nasa.gov will contain links to the data as it exists in those many other locations.

SPDF is the NASA active and permanent archive for non-solar heliophysics data (solar data at SDAC).

Collection of evaluated datasets.

The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

The Catalog Archive Server (CAS) provides access to the object catalogs and related data from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS). It is a companion to the Data Archive Server (DAS), which allows users to download images and spectra from the survey.