Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Black Queer Studies Collection

Using the Collection

Give to the Black Queer Studies Collection!

We are raising $25,000 for the Black Queer Studies Collection! Donate now!

These funds will create an endowment for the collection so we can sustain it for years to come, and we plan to launch an annual Student Research Prize to celebrate student scholarship in Black Queer Studies at UT! See our HornRaiser page to see how you can support this groundbreaking collection. 

How to Use the Collection

Welcome

Discover the UT Libraries’ Black Queer Studies Collection (BQSC) of over 900 African and African Diasporic Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies materials. Books and media from the collection are held by various library branches, including the Perry-Castañeda Library, the Benson Latin American Collection, the Fine Arts Library as well as digital materials. ​

Library Updates Related to COVID-19

The main floor of the Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL) is open for study and book pick-up. Please check the Libraries Service Continuity guide for more information, including service hours and occupancy limits. 

You can request print books through our Pick It Up service using in the library catalog, and pick up your book requests at the PCL main desk. Books duplicated in the HathiTrust digital library will not be eligible for the Pick It Up service. 

Much of the Black Queer Studies Collection is still available online! 

Browsing

  1. Go to the UT Libraries Catalog Keyword Search. 

  2. Using the quotation marks, enter: 
    “Black Queer Studies Collection” 

  3. To search within the collection, add keyword terms such as:
    “Black Queer Studies Collection” and music

    Or:
    “Black Queer Studies Collection” and feminism

    Or:
    “Black Queer Studies Collection” and (femini* or wom?n or girl)

Wait, what's with those parentheses? Click the links below to learn more about advanced search techniques and finding books in the library.

Understanding your search results

The BQSC and this guide were created because traditional library organizational structures can often reinforce oppressive hierarchical systems that bury underserved communities’ voices and make their stories difficult to find. Intersectional identities, as with those of the Black Diasporic LGBTQ+ people, do not fit neatly into any one subject. Recognizing this can help you understanding your search results as you browse the collection. 

More questions? Book a research consultation with Gina Bastone, Women's and Gender Studies and LGBTQA+ Studies Librarian: g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

 

Tips for getting started

Look at the item’s record to check for:

  • Material type (Is it a book, dvd, etc.?)
  • Location (Is it at PCL, Fine Arts Library, etc.?)
  • Current status (Is it Available, On Hold, etc.?)

 

Check out a few of the search results on these sample topics in the collection:

Selections from the BQSC

Suggest a Book!

We want to hear from you! Send us your book suggestions and requests through the Libraries' Suggest a Purchase form, and add a note that it's for the Black Queer Studies Collection!

Acknowledgements

The Black Queer Studies Collection at the UT Libraries was created by Dr. Matt Richardson, Lindsey Schell, and Dr. Kristen Hogan in 2009. This BQSC Guide was created by Kristen Hogan in 2010, with additions made by Hayley Morgenstern in 2016 and Ginny Barnes in 2018.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.