Archival Futures
by
This book draws on the contributions of a range of international experts to consider the current archival landscape and imagine the archive of the future. It is widely acknowledged that the archive profession/discipline is facing a time of change. The digital world has presented changes in how records are created, used, stored and communicated. At the same time, there is increased public debate over issues such as ownership of and access to information and its authenticity and reliability in a networked and interconnected world.
Archives: Principles and Practices
by
This new revised second edition offers an international perspective on archives management, providing authoritative guidance relevant to collections-based repositories and to organizations responsible for managing their own institutional archives.
Arranging and Describing Archives and Manuscripts
by
Bookbinding and Conservation by Hand
by
"This book is designed as a working guide in the field of hand bookbinding and book conservation. "Hand bookbinding in the United States has been influenced primarily by the English, French, and German schools of binding. The techniques described in this volume follow the German school. German techniques move in a logical sequence and can be executed efficiently."
Conservation Treatment Procedures
by
Digital Archives
by
This collection presents an expansive look at how rapid technological changes and the push for providing wide access to digitized cultural heritage holdings are changing the field. It offers up a set of inspirational and informative chapters from international experts that will help readers understand the drivers for change in archives and their implications. Among the topics explored are cultural institutions that are experimenting with sustainable business models for cultural production; the digitization of analog cultural heritage; intellectual property rights issues surrounding the re-use of digital objects and data for research, education, advocacy, and art; state-of-the-art solutions for building digital archives on networked infrastructure; trusted digital repositories for ensuring long-term access; and tools to serve emerging needs in digital humanities.
Disaster Management in Archives, Libraries and Museums
by
This book assesses the current state of disaster management in archives, libraries and museums in the UK and around the world, and provides recommendations for addressing current and future threats. Following an introductory outline of the topic and terminology, the authors provide a short history of the development of disaster management in the cultural heritage sector. They illustrate a basic framework for effective disaster management by reviewing disaster control plan practice from around the world. Through examining and identify the key issues affecting disaster management in archives, libraries and museums, the authors discuss a priority structure for future implementation. This book will be key reading for scholars and students of archive studies, library and information and museum management. It will also be extremely useful for professionals and policy makers involved in disaster management planning at a local and national level.
Donors and Archives
by
Donors and Archives: A Guidebook for Successful Programs highlights the importance of development and fundraising for archives, while focusing on the donor and potential donor. Their interest, their support, their enthusiasm, and their stuff are vital to the success of archival programs. Archivists involved in donor work and fundraising will find the practical advice and best practices in this book applicable, replicable, timely, and valuable.
Extensible Processing for Archives and Special Collections
by
A 2010 OCLC report found that an internet-accessible finding aid existed for only 44% of archival collections. Undescribed collections are hidden from users, and much of the blame can be assigned to the strain of processing backlogs. Extensible processing offers an alternative, allowing collection managers to first establish a baseline level of access to all holdings, then conduct additional processing based on user demand and ongoing assessment. Adhering to archival principles and standards, this flexible approach emphasizes decision-making and prioritization.
Future of Archives and Recordkeeping: A Reader
by
Future of Archives and Recordkeeping has four main sections covering these unique themes: Defining archives; Shaping a discipline; Archives 2.0: archives in society; Archives in the information age: is there still a role for the archive professional?' Hill's straightforward approach to crucial new developments in the field will prove to be an invaluable resource for students pursuing a degree in Archives as well as archive professional who wish to refresh and examine their understanding of this evolving profession.
Making Institutional Repositories Work
by
Making Institutional Repositories Work takes novices as well as seasoned practitioners through the practical and conceptual steps necessary to develop a functioning institutional repository, customized to the needs and culture of the home institution. The first section covers all aspects of system platforms, including hosted and open-source options, big data capabilities and integration, and issues related to discoverability. The second section addresses policy issues, from the basics to open-source and deposit mandates. The third section focuses on recruiting and even creating content. Authors in this section will address the ways that different disciplines tend to have different motivations for deposit, as well as the various ways that institutional repositories can serve as publishing platforms. The fourth section covers assessment and success measures for all involved--librarians, deans, and administrators. The theory and practice of traditional metrics, alt metrics, and peer review receive chapter-length treatment. The fifth section provides case studies that include a boots-on-the-ground perspective of issues raised in the first four sections. By noting trends and potentialities, this final section, authored by Executive Director of SPARC Heather Joseph, makes future predictions and helps managers position institutional repositories to be responsive change and even shape the evolution of scholarly communication.
Managing Archival and Manuscript Repositories
by
Society of American Archivists Fundamentals Series
Managing Preservation for Libraries and Archives
by
The preservation of library and archival materials can encompass everything from bookbinding and paper repair to new techniques for maintaining and exploiting digital text, sound or images. Managing Preservation for Libraries and Archives brings together an international team of contributors presenting the latest findings on key areas of preservation and addressing the most common storage and retrieval problems for different types of media. The authors also revisit traditional preservation and conservation approaches and suggest how to develop policies for the future. First summarising historical developments, the book sets out key preservation principles, rationales for selecting materials for preservation, and how to choose the best methods. Different contributors report on state-of-the-art preservation techniques for paper media and sound archives, explain how the appropriate techniques can be applied and how storage and access can best be managed in the long term. Later chapters analyse the benefits and problems of digitising different types of materials; the long-term viability of digital media; issues of access to digital surrogate documents as opposed to the original medium; and the challenges in the digital context of bibliographical control, cataloguing, metadata, distribution and copyright protection. An extensive chapter on international information sources provides signposting to a wealth of guidance on the latest techniques. Managing Preservation for Libraries and Archives will guide readers working in the library, archives, museum and heritage sectors through the choices between digital and traditional preservation techniques, and prepare them for likely future developments in managing both preservation and access.
Museum and Archive on the Move
by
The digital revolution fundamentally changed how cultural heritage is created, documented, analyzed, and preserved. The book focuses on this transformation's impact. How must museums and archives meet the challenges of digitally generated cultures and how does the digital revolution influence traditional object collection, research, and education? How do digital technologies and digital art and culture affect our interaction with images?
Preservation: Issues and Planning
by
A cutting-edge reference guide from a blue-ribbon team of experts, this books covers the repair, maintenance, and preservation of library or archive collections. two of the most experienced library conservators, Preservation: Issues and Planning provides a definitive and authoritative analysis of how to plan for and ensure the long-term health of an institution's collection in this digital age. Preservation, according to the editors, must become an integral activity to every library, not just managed by specialists, but understood and supported by all. Discover and explore all aspects of this "technical problem that requires managerial solutions." Detailing a wide range of conservation issues, Preservation: Issues and Planning will help you: Define and activate an appropriate preservation program, whether in a high-use collection or for archives and historical records. Understand and begin to take action on issues in digital archiving. Prepare a game plan for emergencies that put collections at risk. Determine exhibit policies that showcase collection highlights without harming the materials. Make tough selection decisions for materials to be preserved, including microfilm and photocopying. Select materials for digitization to enhance preservation and access. Preserve information in non-paper formats.
Preservation of Library and Archival Materials
by
Preserving Archives and Manuscripts
by
Society of American Archivists Fundamentals Series
Processing Decisions For Manuscripts And Archives
by
Libraries, archives, and cultural institutions hold millions of items that have never been adequately described. These items are all but unknown to, and unused by, the scholars these organizations aim to serve. Ultimately, processing planning and management decisions become the essential building blocks for making these collections accessible to patrons. As interest in uncovering hidden collections grows, the special collections/archival community has been engaged in discussions about establishing guidelines or best practices to expedite getting collection materials into the hands of users. This survey investigated current policies and practices for processing manuscript and archival collections (but not rare books and serials), including setting processing priorities; creating and implementing policies and procedures; and processing metrics.
Providing Reference Services for Archives and Manuscripts
by
Society of American Archivists Fundamentals Series
Selecting and Appraising Archives and Manuscripts
by
Society of American Archivists Fundamentals Series
Valuing Your Collection
by
This book addresses the issue of valuing objects in cultural collections, ranging from high-value to low or no-value and featuring a range of collections including fine art, archives, science and photography. Practical advice is given on how to assign values and best practice examples are drawn from museums, libraries and archives. The subject of valuation has always been challenging for museums and public collections and is becoming more urgent as monetary values of many items continue to break records. There is an increase in lending, with more loans requiring a value for insurance. Cultural collections and exhibitions are expanding to all corners of the world, while, at the same time, lenders are becoming more risk-averse. Valuing Your Collection will address the issues and offer some solutions. Content covered includes: questions of valuing public and private cultural collections assigning values to individual objects or an entire collection legal and ethical considerations discussion of authentication and attribution the insurance business and valuation guides to valuing different types of collections a range of case studies showing valuation across multiple sectors sample templates with criteria for valuing different objects. This book will be useful for curators of cultural collections, professionals in museums, libraries and archives, cultural heritage students, private collectors, those involved with art insurance, art business and anyone requiring practical guidance on valuation.
Unlimited users.
Provides descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state which are available to the public. Consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.