LibGuides: UGS 303: Jane Austen on Page and Screen, Janine Barchas: Resources for Austen Research

UT Databases

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Unlimited users.
The newspapers and pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available anywhere. The 1,270-title collection includes a wide range of pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period, covering more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
1701 - 1800. Unlimited users.
Users may need to refresh cache and cookies or use a private browsing window for this resource. Updated regularly. An online collection of English and foreign language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the U.K. and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. Content is presented as full text page images which can be viewed online or downloaded as PDF documents. When complete, more than 33 million pages of material will support full text searching. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
4th century BC - 2000. 3 users.
Updated three times per year. Biographical dictionary of people of distinction in the British Isles and its colonies who died before December 31, 2000. Provides signed articles, each with a bibliography of resource materials, written by specialists. Content includes the complete text of the new sixty-volume Oxford DNB with 50,000 biographies and 10,000 portrait illustrations as well as the complete text of the original thirty-three volume of the DNB.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a message to this effect will be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
2nd ed. 1989. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Covers words from across the English-speaking world and offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and phonetic pronunciation. Corresponds to the print Oxford English Dictionary published in 1989 and the three Additions volumes published 1993-1997.

Museums and Outside Websites

British Museum Collections Online
Vast collection of prints, drawings, trade cards, satires, portraits, etc. Best source for material on paper (prints & engravings), although they do have other objects too. A search will pull up anything that has your key terms in the catalogue description.
Carriages of Britain
Edinburgh University Collection of Historic Musical Instruments
Jane Austen Fiction Manuscripts
The novels published in Austen’s lifetime do not survive in manuscript. But her juvenilia, two unfinished novels, a completed early epistolary novelette (Lady Susan) and one cancelled chapter of Persuasion do, and they are made searchable on this site. So, while this site will not allow you to search any manuscript versions of the four novels on our syllabus, it will allow you to test linguistics patterns or quirks elsewhere in her corpus of works. Plus you can leaf through pages by Austen written in her own hand! This is seriously cool, if you consider how these manuscripts have not been physically together since Cassandra had them on the kitchen table after her sister’s death.
Locating London's Past
Users can toggle between a central London map of 1746, a Victorian map of about 1880, and modern Google or Satellite views. These maps connect to databases about crime (incl the Old Bailey), insurance, and real estate statistics. Pick your desired data and, presto, it visualizes it on the maps. Not as useful as Google Maps until you have a specific set of questions/addresses you want to ask it to map in central London.
National Trust Carriage Museum
Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
Searchable texts of 200K trials at London’s central criminal court. While the criminal world is the realm of Dickens rather than Austen, the names, locations, dates, and stolen objects mentioned in the proceedings might still provide you with wonderful context for her times.
Royal Museums Greenwich
This is a maritime museum for researching people, ships, or objects associated with the navy. They also specialize in time-keeping technology, maps, and watches.
Victoria & Albert Museum
Not just traditional works of art, but objects from watches to weapons and shoes to ceramics can be found here in a few clicks, along with accurate historical information about their function or construction.
What Jane Saw
"What Jane Saw" digitally reconstructs two art exhibitions attended by novelist Jane Austen in 1796 and 1813.

Mapping

Google Maps
You will not be able to use a Utexas gmail account to create your maps. You will need to use a personal gmail account.
TimeMapper
Integrates easily with Google Sheets, after adjusting sharing settings.