DD 303 The U.S.-- China Tango (Chen)

China’s only English national news magazine, an important tool enabling the Chinese government to communicate to the rest of the world. Began in 1958 and is still in publication. Its English title was Peking review (1958-1978) and changed to Beijing Review (1979-present). This database provides access to its 1958-2007 contents. For online current issues see the main Beijing Review site.

Index to union catalogs of libraries of higher education in China.

Updated daily. China Academic Journals is part of the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI net) and is produced by Qinghua University. The searchable, full text database covers numerous journals from the People's Republic of China, including English language publications. Indexes, bibliographic information, and abstracts are accessible for articles published in the years prior to UT’s subscription dates and for sections (subjects) that UT does not subscribe to.

The library has access to the following sections of the database:

• Section F (Literature/History/Philosophy) 1915-current
• Section G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law) 1915-current

• Section H (Education & Social Sciences) 2009-current

• Section J (Economics/Management) pre-1949

The recommended web browsers are Internet Explorer (version 10 or higher), Firefox and Chrome. To view articles in pdf format, Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.x or above and its Simplified Chinese Font Pack must be installed.

China Statistical Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels. Our subscription includes the following databases:

1. Monthly Statistics
2. National Statistics
3. Provincial Statistics
4. City Statistics
5. County Statistics
6. Monthly Industrial Data
7. Monthly Industrial Data 1999-2002
8. Yearly
9. Yearly Industrial Data 1999-2002
10. Statistics on Map
11. Yearbook Database(updated to 2011 only)

Updated twice a year. Provides full text Chinese ebooks and reprint journals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes access to "Duxiu," a meta search engine with limited access to full text of Chinese ebooks, periodicals, dissertation/thesis, and patents.

Please note that Duxiu searches may bring up contents outside UT's full text coverage which you will not be able to download. Please use Interlibrary Services to request these materials.

Use of this resource is restricted to users with PCs and IE browser only. Page image and its full text (with provided OCR tool to convert image to text) can be printed one page at a time. Simple and Advanced Search methods are provided with all searches supporting Simplified Chinese characters.

Users may click “推荐” to recommend the title to the librarian for purchase

British diplomatic reports. A collection of reports established as an integrated series by R. L. Jarman, F.R.G.S. The documents are listed in detail at the front of each volume and source references given for the benefit of scholars.

Duxiu provides full-text searching and limited full-text access to millions of Chinese language books, journals and newspaper articles primarily published in China.

Provides a reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.

Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.

Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.

If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Provides access for registered users to the full text of over 800 Chinese core journals from 2012 forward. Unregistered users can access the index only. Covers subjects in the social sciences, humanities, arts, education, military, and more.

Index to social sciences and humanities journals held in the Center for Chinese Studies, National Central Library (Taiwan). Many are not covered by China Academic Journals (China).

HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).

University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication

Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.

The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.

Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education. The University of Hong Kong Libraries, with a rich collection of Hong Kong journals, developed this database with the objectives of facilitating efficient information retrieval and preserving archival materials. Issues included in this database vary from journal to journal with the earliest going back to 1948. At its first release, more than 170,000 images from over 40 titles will be accessible on the database. More titles with permission granted for digitizing their full text will be included to the database. New issues of the titles will also be added as soon as being received. Scholars doing research on Hong Kong will find this an invaluable resource.

Includes Xiangkang Zhong wen qi kan lun wen suo yin 香港中文期刊論文索引 and Aomen Zhong wen qi kan lun wen suo yin 澳門中文期刊論文索引 Index to over 300 Chinese and bilingual journals published in Hong Kong and Macau. Covers mostly issues from 1980. The important academic journals are indexed from first issue. The earliest is from 1853.

The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.

Part of the Global Press Archive initiative. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.

LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then release the audio files back onto the net (through a podcast, catalog, and bit torrents). They are a volunteer, open source, free content, public domain project, and operates almost exclusively through Internet communications.

LibriVox gets most of their texts from Project Gutenberg, and the Internet Archive and ibiblio.org hosts their audio files.

More information on this project is available.

民国時期期刊全文数据库includes over Chinese 20,000 journal titles and nearly 10 million pieces of literature of all subjects published 1911-1949.

The database is one of Shanghai Library’s "全国报刊索引" databases. UT has access to two databases in 全国报刊索引: 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 and 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949. 民国時期期刊全文数据库is an on-going digitization project. UT has access to what has been made available so far (1-9 series).

At the opening page of 全国报刊索引, select "近代期刊“ if you want the search to cover both 晚清期刊and 民国時期期刊. If you want to search only one of the database, click the moving images of 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 or 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949 on the bottom of the page

Contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history. The database is very useful for keyword searching. UT users have limited access through the free version. Click “免費使用” (the left-hand button) to enter.

晚清期刊全文数据库includes Chinese language journals of all subjects published 1833-1911. 302 journal titles are covered. The database is not truly full-text, but images of articles.

晚清期刊全文数据库 is one of Shanghai Library’s "全国报刊索引" databases. UT has access to two databases in 全国报刊索引: 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 and 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949.

At the opening page of 全国报刊索引, select "近代期刊“ if you want the search to cover both 晚清期刊and 民国時期期刊. If you want to search only one of the database, click the moving images of 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 or 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949 on the bottom of the page.

Include four databases:

1. Chinese Cultural Revolution Database. 中國文化大革命文庫
2. Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign Database, 1957- 中國反右運動數據庫, 1957-
3. Chinese Great Leap Forward and Great Famine Database, 1958-1962. 中國大躍進-大飢荒數據庫, 1958-1962
4. Database of Political Campaigns in the 1950s: From Land Reform to State-Private Partnership, 1949-1956. 中國五十年代初中期的政治運動數據庫: 從土地改革到公私合營, 1949-1956

Updated monthly. Contains historical materials related to the political movements in China 1949-1976: Chinese Communist Party documents, speeches and writings by major party leaders and media commentaries. Users can browse by subject categories and date. It is also searchable by author, keyword and organization. Search interface in both English and Chinese: results in Chinese.

The Sixth National Population Census of China Database (NPCC) provides access to all data from the population census in 2010 published by China Statistics Press including all population data from the whole country, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities and 2872 units at the county level.

Basic features of NPCC:

1. All the statistical data forms are elaborately processed into Excel format, for searching, browsing and analyzing.
2. Enables data searching and comparison among different locations, industries and years at one time.
3. Enables in-depth data mining, and analytical results can be exported into Excel or Word.
4. Provides detailed data source review.
5. Provides English version of both content and interface.

Chinese version of the NPCC.

中國方志庫 is one of the databases in 愛如生古籍數據庫 in 愛如生 (Erudition). At the Erudition Central Server, select 愛如生古籍數據庫 and click login. Then click 中國方志庫 and then中國方志庫. 初籍 (中國方志庫. 初籍 is the only database in 愛如生UTL currently has access to.)

Full texts of 3,000+ titles (and growing) of ancient books, in tens of thousands of volumes, annotated and punctuated. Books are published mostly by Beijing Zhonghua Shu ju, but also by other publishers of classic titles.