LibGuides: HIS 350L: Chile: From Revolution to Counterrevolution: Database Subscriptions with Primary Source Material

Databases

CREST This link opens in a new window
CIA database of declassified CIA documents.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Reports: Latin America 1974-1996 This link opens in a new window
News reports from Latin America gathered and translated by staff at the FBIS for the CIA
Provides access to full-text searchable news reports from Latin America translated into English between 1974-1996 by the now defunct Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), which gathered open source intelligence for the United States’ Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). FBIS gathered news reports from radio broadcasts, news services, and clandestine broadcasts.
Please note, although the home screen appears to allow searches covering multiple regions of the world, we only have access to reports on Latin America.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary source materials on the cold war and dirty wars in Chile and other parts of Latin America.
Provides access to primary and secondary materials (including 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video) on human rights issues in the 20th and early 21st centuries in Africa, Asia, Europe, United States, and Latin America. Subject coverage includes Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, Sierra Leone, and dirty wars in Latin America.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new window
Non-governmental research institute that works to declassify government documents. Database has 46 collections of almost 100,000 documents.
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University.Updated annually. The Digital National Security Archive includes 53 collections of declassified documents, consisting of over 94,000 indexed documents, with more than 733,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University.