The Library Catalog will search our UT Libraries collections. We offer a large and historic collection of print paleontological literature and provide extensive access to current publications, mostly as ebooks. 
Google Books is also a good place to start finding books that match your interests. Google Books searches through the full-text of millions of books, so it can locate texts using very specific terms, while library catalogs generally search in titles a subject headings. This allows you to search for very specific terms, like taxonomic names or names of location/sites.
If Google Books doesn't allow access to the full text, then check the Library Catalog to see if we own a copy. Otherwise, place a request through Interlibrary Loan or request a purchase.
Dissertations can be tricky to find because they are archived in so many different places, and none are comprehensive, but these are two great places to start. For Google Scholar, try adding "dissertation" to your search terms.
Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses, and provides full text for most done after 1997. Coverage of dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin is selective. To see all local dissertations published since 2000, we encourage you to use Texas Scholarworks.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
To find theses and dissertations from UT Austin,
1) Start with a search in our Library Catalog, which includes records for both recent and older items that may only be in print.
2) Search or browse Texas ScholarWorks (our institutional repository) to find electronic copies. Tip: Browse by Author, using faculty names to find dissertations they have supervised or served as a committee member.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.