Search the full-text index of the American Museum of Natural History's Division of Paleontology catalog, which includes a wide range of locality, specimen, expedition, taxonomic and collection event data.
Public database of paleontological data that anyone can use, maintained by an international non-governmental group of paleontologists. You can explore the data online in the Navigator, which lets you filter fossil occurrences by time, space, and taxonomy, and displays their modern and paleogeographic locations; or you can download the data to your own computer to do your own analyses.
Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
In addition to the WOS Core Collection database, within this interface we have temporary, separate access to Biosis Citation Index (1926-present), which has specific fields for taxonomic searching.
Updated weekly. Covers more than 12,000 journals in all subject areas. Also includes citations to conference proceedings. Choose Search in order to search the database by topic, author journal or address. This search includes articles, reports, books and book reviews and may be searched by keyword (topic searching), author (person searching), institution, or geographical area. Choose Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or work. This search includes the list of references at the end of articles and will allow you to search by the cited author, cited work, cited year or a combination of the three. Choose Advanced Search to combine aspects of the other two searches. The default selection for searching is for all the citation databases and for all years of coverage; both selections can be changed from the main search screen at the time that you select your search.
The Web of Science platform currently provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
Most physical collections in this subject area are held in the Walter Geology Library (JGB) and the Life Science Library (MAI). Check the Library Catalog for information on holdings, availability, and locations.