LibGuides: Designed for Users: Universal Design Plus Human Factors: Research Papers

Databases for Finding Research Papers

Especially when you want to find newer studies or do a thorough search of related literature, we recommend searching for research papers using library databases that index journal and conference papers.

Here are some recommended databases for investigating both universal design and human factors. If you want to branch out, you may consider other options on the Databases list. The list has filters for subjects and for types of databases. "Indexes" includes the type of database that helps identify research papers.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Good coverage and much full-text. A good choice for searching across disciplines, including engineering, medicine, and psychology.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of engineering. Includes design of devices.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of electrical and computer engineering. Good coverage of medical and assistive devices.
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on both the artistic and usability aspects of design.
Updated regularly. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The index for the literature of architecture.
Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of psychology. (Also available with the OVID interface.)
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

"Find it @ UT"

When you see "Find it @ UT, usually you will want to click on it. This should lead you to the electronic text of a journal article or to information about how to obtain a copy of the material.

Get a Scan

Scan Service
If you don't get linked up to the text of a paper you need, ask for a copy.