I use this as a starting point for almost every topic. It has popular and scholarly articles (limit with left hand side menu). Pay attention to date and how that applies to your topic.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
This is a tough database to search sometimes, so reach out via email for help if you get stuck. Since it is a 'bibliography' it's purpose is to collect articles, but it may not provide direct access to them - you can search on the main library homepage or on google scholar by citation. (ask me for help)
Updated quarterly. The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a leading specialist bibliography of African Studies. It contains 140,000 entries from the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015, and about 4,000 new entries will be added every year. The bibliography is searchable by authors, editors, titles, publication years, ISSN/ISBN, keywords, full text, and categories such as regions and countries or the African Diaspora
While I find the search on Jstor to be frustrating (too many irrelevant results because it searches full text - unique among databases that are indexed) - this database has so much in it, it's worth the struggle :)
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.
Provides a resource for conducting research and analysis on various forms of social and political unrest in Africa. Includes over 6,000 social conflict events across Africa from 1990 to 2009, including riots, strikes, protests, coups, and communal violence. By tracking forms of conflict not covered in traditional datasets on civil and interstate war, SCAD gives policymakers and researchers new tools to analyze conflict patterns.
Can I use Google Scholar?
You may be accustomed to using Google Scholar in your research - when you are on campus, or off campus with the link below, you will have expanded access to materials you find on Google Scholar. This is because you will be recognized by our proxy link or on our network and allowed access to our subscriptions.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.