E 374K: Elizabethan Poetry and Prose, J. K. Barret

Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.

Updated three times per year. Biographical dictionary of people of distinction in the British Isles and its colonies who died before December 31, 2000. Provides signed articles, each with a bibliography of resource materials, written by specialists. Content includes the complete text of the new sixty-volume Oxford DNB with 50,000 biographies and 10,000 portrait illustrations as well as the complete text of the original thirty-three volume of the DNB.

We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a message to this effect will be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Access to EEBO's Text Creation Partnership is now available.
Aims to provide the total surviving print record of the English speaking world for 227 years (1473-1700). It is the digital version of the popular Early English Books I, Early English Books II, Thomason Tracts, and Early English Books Tract Supplements microfilm collections. The project aims to reproduce all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English between 1473 and 1700. In order to view the PDF documents, you will need the Acrobat Reader plugin from Adobe.

Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).

Updated quarterly. Provides annotated citations for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to William Shakespeare. Coverage is international.

These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.

UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.

Updated quarterly. Covers words from across the English-speaking world and offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and phonetic pronunciation. Corresponds to the print Oxford English Dictionary published in 1989 and the three Additions volumes published 1993-1997.